The Purpose of Repentance, Pt. 1

“Don’t cry because it’s over, smile because it happened.”~~Dr. Seuss

Today’s word of the day, from Word Think, is antipathy, “A deep-seated feeling of dislike; aversion.” “’His antipathy for first wife dates back to his divorce.’”

Today is Origami Day. I was never very good at that. You know, folding pieces of paper into little shapes like swans and giraffes and stuff.

I’m going in at 7:00 this morning, so I can leave at 3:30 and get to a dentist appointment. Hopefully, there will not be any complications getting this crown glued back in, but I’m a bit concerned that there isn’t enough “tooth” left to attach it to. We shall see, I guess.

Christi and I went to Fitness 2000 last night, and I got in 40 minutes on the eliptical. It was a good workout. What we do tonight depends largely on what happens with me and the dentist, and what time I get home. The dentist closes at 5:00, though, so I guess we can’t do too much.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Prayer: Experiencing Awe and Intimacy with God)

“Jesus Christ paid for our sin.” Romans 8:1 assures and comforts us with these words: There is therefore now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus. “If we forget this, we turn confession into a grueling, self-punishing penitence rather than gospel repentance.

The first of Martin Luther’s Ninety-Five Theses, nailed to the door of the church at Wittneberg, says this: “When our Lord and Master Jesus Christ said, `Repent’ (Mt 4:17), he willed the entire life of believers to be one of repentance.” We might mistake this to mean that we will never make any progress, but it really means just the opposite. Luther is saying that “repentance is the way we make progress in the Christian life.”

The Gospel “changes the nature of repentance.” We are saved by faith in the grace of Jesus Christ, apart from any works that we have done. This is the Gospel. When we forget that, then the purpose of repentance becomes an attempt to make God happy with us with our expressions of guilt and shame. “If that is what repentance becomes, it is self-righteous and will be bitter all the way to the bottom. It will lead only to a forced compliance of the will, not a change of view, motivation, and heart.”

More on this tomorrow.

Father, grant me this type of repentance! I confess that, many times, I am guilty of trying to appease you with my expressions of sorrow over my sin. And while it is not bad for me to be sorry for my sin, repentance should carry a totally different meaning, in light of the Gospel of Jesus Christ. Teach me this truth, Father.

Come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

2 thoughts on “The Purpose of Repentance, Pt. 1

  1. Hope all went well at the dentist. I’ve heard those posts work pretty well even though the thought of having a screw in your mouth is a little weird. Also, it’s funny, but I’ve been making little origami boxes. I started with lotus flowers from Sherlock and then I moved on to making boxes 🙂

Leave a Reply

