Confess and Forsake

“A lie can travel half way around the world while the truth is putting on its shoes.”~~Mark Twain

Today’s word of the day, from Dictionary.com, is inconnu, “a person who is unknown; stranger.”

Today is Sadie Hawkins Day! So girls, get out there and ask your guys to the dance!!

Today is the day that friggatriskaidekaphobics fear. That’s right, it’s Friday the 13th. I first realized this while driving to work, yesterday, considering the fact that it was Thursday, and Christi’s birthday, which is November 12. Thursday the 12th . . . oh, crap, tomorrow’s Friday the 13th!! Yep. But I’m not friggatriskaidekaphobic, so I’m not worried. I’m not even triskaidekaphobic (simply a fear of the number 13). So I’ll just carry on.

We had a wonderful time at Hoffbrau last night, although the room was slightly chilly. In fact, the table they tried to seat us at, when we first arrived, had cold air blowing right on it, so we asked to be moved. Then we watched while at least two other parties did the same thing! 😀 But our steaks were delicious, as was the cup of chili I had for one of my sides. I always get their chili instead of a salad. Hoffbrau’s chili is among the best I’ve ever had. Christi and I both got the “Sal’s Ribeye,” cooked medium-rare. That’s right. I ordered a medium rare steak. I think Christi’s finally converted me. It was quite good.

We plan on getting back to Fitness 2000 tonight, after a two day break. From our experience, gyms are never crowded on Friday nights. You want to know what day the gym is least crowded? Super Bowl Sunday. We once went to 24-Hour Fitness on Sunday during the Super Bowl. I think there may have been one other person there! It was great!

I have just learned that a group of kittens is called a “kindle.” No wonder I like reading on my Kindle so much!

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Prayer: Experiencing Awe and Intimacy with God)

Yesterday, I finished a section on the “freeness of forgiveness.” Today, I begin a section on the “costliness of forgiveness.” We all want to remember the freeness part (although we struggle with that part, too), but this costliness part is sometimes a stumbling block to us. While it is wrong to consider confession and repentance as an attempt to appease our Father, it is just as wrong to take the forgiveness of our sins lightly and forget the cost.

D. Martyn Lloyd-Jones once said that forgiving sin was the greatest problem that God faced. Yes, God is omnipotent and sovereign. How could anything be difficult for him? Yet, we must remember that our sins are like debts that have to be paid. When you forgive a debt, you absorb the the cost of that debt. “Our great debt and sin against God required an infinite payment, and the only way God could forgive us was to bear it himself.” This is why, then, that God the Father sent God the son to bear the punishment of our sin. Together, then, they sent God the Spirit into our hearts to enlighten us and help us.

If we forget the costliness of forgiveness, our confession will be “shallow and trivial.” John R. w. Stott, in his book Confess Your Sins, says that many people, perhaps even most, confess their sins. But not very many people are changed by those confessions. “They usually go right back to the same bad patterns of attitude and behavior again and again.”

I’m one who has to admit that I find myself going back to the Father with the same confessions over and over again, so I can identify with this. Could it be that our culture has taught us this? As I read about church history, I find that churches were much tougher on their members a few centuries back. Regardless of that culture difference, we must see that confession of sin should lead to forsaking of sin. We should confess and then disown that sin, turning our hearts against it in such a way that would “weaken [our] ability to do it again.” We should be “inwardly grieved and appalled” by our sin, enough so that it should lose its hold over us. This is what Christ paid for.

Father, I pray for your Spirit’s help in forsaking sin that I have confessed. I confess that I take it too lightly, this act of confession. I find it too easy to casually confess that I have sinned, and then later return to it. May your Spirit convict me of the need to be “inwardly grieved and appalled” by that which would mar my relationship with you on a daily basis. Teach me your way, O Lord, that I may walk in your truth. May my meditations drive me toward holiness, that I might see your face.

Come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

3 thoughts on “Confess and Forsake

Leave a Reply

