The Benefit of Scripture Memorization

“You can design and create, and build the most wonderful place in the world. But it takes people to make the dream a reality.”~~Walt Disney

Today’s word of the day, from Dictionary.com, is diaphanous, “very sheer and light; almost completely transparent or translucent,” or, “delicately hazy.”

Today is I Love To Write Day. “The aim is to get people to sit down and put something on paper or on a computer, however short and in whatever style, kick-starting their writing and giving them confidence through being part of a global movement.”

I don’t have a lot of time, this morning, so this will be brief. We got everything done, and then managed to get to the gym to work out, about an hour before closing time, which is 6:00 PM on Saturdays and Sundays. Hopefully, we will make it back today.

We have our worship service this morning, at 10:15. We haven’t quite worked out when the prayer gathering is going to happen, but we are hoping that, after everything gets settled, we will be able to have it around 9:15 or so, before the worship gathering. Come check us out, if you are in the area. The Exchange meets at the Northpark YMCA, at 9100 N. Beach, Fort Worth, TX, 76244.

The only birthday I’m going to mention today is Kenneth Ray Bickley’s (my father). He would have been 78 today. We opted to not spend the day with my mother, as we are going to spend next weekend with her.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Solid Joys)

Today’s reading is “Fighting Words.”

Fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.
Isaiah 41:10

John Piper says that whenever he is anxious about some new venture or a meeting that is approaching, his mind goes straight to Isaiah 41:10. He says it is one of his most used promises from Scripture.

“When the motor of my mind is in neutral, the hum of the gears is the sound of Isaiah 41:10.”

When he is battling anxiety about his ministry being unfruitful, he goes to Isaiah 55:11. So shall my word be that goes out from my mouth; it shall not return to me empty, but it shall accomplish that which I purpose, and shall succeed in the thing for which I sent it.

When he is anxious about being too weak for the task ahead, he goes to 2 Corinthians 12:9, But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me.

There are others mentioned in the reading. The point of this is the benefit of Scripture memorization. Whenever we have doubts or anxieties, there are myriads of Scripture verses that can come quickly to our aid, if we only do what the Psalmist said, and hide God’s word in our hearts.

Father, help me to be more faithful to commit your word to memory, in order that I might not fail in times of stress, anxiety, doubt, and temptation.

Come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

