Self-Examination

When one door of happiness closes, another opens; but often we look so long at the closed door that we do not see the one which has been opened for us.”~~Helen Keller. While I don’t necessarily believe the “when one door closes, another one opens” philosophy, I do think there is merit to the second part of this quote. When the door closes, we should move on, lest we miss something important.

Today’s word of the day, from Dictionary.com, is hortatory, “urging to some course of conduct or action; exhorting; encouraging,” as in a “hortatory speech.”

Today is Button Day. We’re talking about the kind that holds your shirt together, not the ones that turn your appliances on and off. I don’t know if those get their own “holiday.”

It’s back to Monday again. Monday is a very long day for me, but the second part of it is fun, so that’s okay.

We spent a good part of yesterday cleaning house. I even helped. I cleaned the kitchen! No, really! I worked so hard, I hit my Fitbit step goal on Sunday! That hardly ever happens. We did not go to the gym afterward. I’ll get back there tomorrow night.

After we finished the cleaning, we watched Inside Out, which, in my opinion, is a brilliant movie. I liked it quite a bit. It had sadness, joy, disgust, fear–wait. Those were the characters!! Haha! Well, anyway, I think it represented how we need all of our emotions to fully function.

Tonight, I have band practice, and it’s our last practice before the Christmas tree lighting event, which is next Saturday evening.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Prayer: Experiencing Awe and Intimacy with God)

An aspect of repentance that doesn’t get emphasized very much, these days, is self-examination. Our pastor frequently calls for this, especially when it’s time to take the Supper every Sunday. But confession shouldn’t simply be response to sin that we already know about. Our prayer lives should include times of examination, not necessarily looking for sin, but checking ourselves to see if we are lining up with Biblical guidelines concerning what the Christian life should look like.

Martin Luther encouraged regular meditations on the Ten Commandments, which would necessitate an understanding of Jesus’s teachings on those commands, as well. Another possible guide for meditation along this line would be the list of the fruit of the Spirit in Galatians 5:22-24. How am I doing at love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control? We might also examine our lives next to 1 Corinthians 13, the infamous “love chapter.” Love is patient, kind, does not envy or boast, is not arrogant or rude, doesn’t insist on its own way, isn’t irritable or resentful, never rejoices at wrongdoing, but rejoices in the truth. How am I doing at those things? These are the kinds of things we should examine in our lives, on a regular, if not daily basis.

Tomorrow, I’ll look at a short prayer by George Whitefield, and how it might be used in our meditations.

Father, teach me the proper use of meditation in examining my life against your Word. Teach me, no, grant me repentance, that I might be continuously looking to be pleasing to you, not to earn forgiveness, but simply because I love you and want to do well. Grant me the power of the Holy Spirit.

Come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

2 thoughts on “Self-Examination

  1. Thank you for the post. For more on George Whitefield, I would like to invite you to the website for the book series, The Asbury Triptych Series. The trilogy based on the life of Francis Asbury, the young protégé of John Wesley and George Whitefield, opens with the book, Black Country. The opening novel in this three-book series details the amazing movement of Wesley and Whitefield in England and Ireland as well as its life-changing effect on a Great Britain sadly in need of transformation. Black Country also details the Wesleyan movement’s effect on the future leader of Christianity in the American colonies, Francis Asbury. The website for the book series is http://www.francisasburytriptych.com. Please enjoy the numerous articles on the website. Again, thank you, for the post.

Leave a Reply

