Asking

“That which does not kill us makes us stronger.”~~Friedrich Nietzche

Today’s word of the day, from Dictionary.com, describes me very well. It is bibliotaph, “a person who caches or hoards books.” Yep. That’s me.

Today is Stay Home Because You’re Well Day.  Trust me, I would LOVE to do that!

Once we got everything done, yesterday, it was a nice afternoon/evening of just relaxing and resting. Church was okay. For some reason, I had one of those days where I was just “off.” Something triggered my “bad mood syndrome,” or whatever you want to call it, and I just didn’t like anything or anyone all morning. Except for the pastor, my wife, and a few others. It really disturbs me when I get like that. For one reason, because it is very transparent. I don’t hide it well. I’m not one who can easily “fake.” I got better though, and we got our grocery shopping done pretty quickly, then settled in for a late lunch and TV watching.

Of course, it is back to work today, and that very well may have been a large part of the cause of yesterday’s bad mood. I often get what I call “end of the holiday blues” on Sunday. Especially if it has been a four day weekend, like Thanksgiving, and Christmas, this year. Maybe I should stay home on the Sunday after Christmas.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Prayer: Experiencing Awe and Intimacy with God)

Continuing in the section on petitionary prayer, we come to a section called “What We Should Ask For.” In this section Timothy Keller examines three categories of petitions: asking, complaining, and waiting. Today, we will look at “asking.”

This comprises what we might consider “ordinary prayers” that ask for our own needs and the needs of others, praying for our “daily bread.” This covers “the full range of what we need spiritually, emotionally, and materially.” We might pray for freedom from sin, strength against temptation, energy for work, protection from sickness and/or injury, help with finances, and, last, but certainly not least, “communion and fellowship with God.”

When we pray for others, this is commonly called “intercessory prayer.” Here, we would pray for family members, friends, and, yes, even opponents and enemies. We might pray for people we meet during the day who are struggling. We might pray for the sick and afflicted, or for faith for people who seem to be searching for something. We can pray for the church and the world, in general, praying for strength and faithfulness for the church, and peace and prosperity for the world, as opposed to war and poverty.

Father, as I pray today, may I remember all of these different categories when I am “asking.” It is not necessary, of course, to go through everything, every time I pray. But these are areas of prayer that I need to always be mindful of when I am praying. Help me to focus more “globally” in my prayers, not just on me and my immediate circle of family and friends.

Come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

