The “Quiet Time”

“Great ideas often receive violent opposition from mediocre minds.”~~Albert Einstein

Today’s word of the day, from Dictionary.com, is bombinate, “to make a humming or buzzing noise.” Of course, I have to confess, the first thing I thought of when I saw “bombinate,” was “burninate.”

Today is Letter Writing Day. Does anyone still do that? That reminds me once again that I need to write a letter to our Compassion International child. I haven’t done that in a long time, but she keeps writing us. Maybe we can sit down tonight and compose a letter for her.

We had a nice day, yesterday. Our worship service went really well, and we had at least six visitors! Two of them came because some of our folks got together Saturday morning to hand out doorhangers in the neighborhood. Four of them came because they knew someone else who had been visiting. The feedback seemed positive from all of them.

After church we stopped by WalMart so I could get some new tennis shoes. I like the Dr. Scholl’s shoes because they have good padding in them. I wound up getting a pair exactly like the old ones, which are starting to come apart on the heels. Then I switched out my steel-toe adapters from another, older pair to the pair of Dr. Scholl’s that I was replacing. So now I have a “new” pair of work shoes, too.

Tonight is band practice, the last practice until January. This coming Saturday, we have another Christmas concert (outside again), around mid-day. Then Saturday night is Christi’s company Christmas party, which is supposed to last until midnight. Busy day.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Prayer: Experiencing Awe and Intimacy with God)

As the twentieth century developed, the daily “Quiet Time” of the evangelical community downplayed “the more experiential aspects of prayer.” Meditation all but disappeared, as “interpretive Bible study” become the focus. Outlining and paraphrasing passages were encouraged. The problem with this design is that it is difficult to accomplish in just a few minutes every morning. “The effect was to promote a method of daily inductive Bible study aimed more at interpreting the text than at meditation and experience of God.” Of course, prayer was encouraged after the Bible study, but it wound up being primarily petitions and confession.

Many people, myself included, found this to be too rationalistic. I rebelled against the traditional “quiet time” many years ago. I do have this daily time in the morning, but it has come to be a time that stresses more meditation, and it continues into my drive to work every morning. Yet I still struggle on the best way to accomplish a daily prayer routine. Like myself, many Protestants began turning to “more Catholic and Eastern Orthodox traditions, including lectio divina, contemplative prayer, and fixed hours of liturgical prayer.”

More on this tomorrow.

Father, as I continue reading this book, I am excited about the aspects of prayer that it teaches me. Help me to work out the best way to incorporate what I am learning into my daily practice of prayer.

Come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

