Where Shall I Flee?

“Seek freedom and become captive of your desires. Seek discipline and find your liberty.”~~Frank Herbert (BrainyQuote)

Today’s word of the day, from the Oxford English Dictionary, is eye music, “Music that is more impressive in its written form than when heard in performance.”

Today is Ugly Christmas Sweater Day. I really need to get one of those.

It has actually been somewhat cold in the mornings, over the last two days. 32 degrees outside, as I’m typing this. Stop laughing at me, I live in north central Texas. 32 is cold! I could actually wear one of those ugly Christmas sweaters today. But, alas, I do not have one.

I actually practiced the trombone last night! I played through some of the music for Yuleslide, which happens Saturday morning in Grapevine. There’s a lot of music, and if we play standing, which trombone choirs usually do, I’m going to be really tired, afterward. But it’s going to be so much fun!

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Heart Aflame)

Today’s devotional comes from John Calvin’s commentary on Psalm 139:1-10.

O LORD, you have searched me and known me!
You know when I sit down and when I rise up; you discern my thoughts from afar.
You search out my path and my lying down and are acquainted with all my ways.
Even before a word is on my tongue, behold, O LORD, you know it altogether.
You hem me in, behind and before, and lay your hand upon me.
Such knowledge is too wonderful for me; it is high; I cannot attain it.
Where shall I go from your Spirit? Or where shall I flee from your presence?
If I ascend to heaven, you are there! If I make my bed in Sheol, you are there!
If I take the wings of the morning and dwell in the uttermost parts of the sea,
even there your hand shall lead me, and your right hand shall hold me.

When David says, “Even before a word is on my tongue . . . you know it altogether,” he implies a double meaning. First, that “God knows what we are about to say before the words are formed on our tongue.” Second, “that though we speak not a word, and try by silence to conceal our secret intentions, we cannot elude his notice.” The point being that, even when we refrain from speaking words that we know we ought not speak, our Father knows that they were in our heart. “The innermost recesses of our spirit stand present to his view.”

This knowledge elicits this exclamation from David: “Such knowledge is too wonderful for me; it is high; I cannot attain it.” We cannot measure God’s knowledge by our own. Too often, we compare God to ourselves, and consider his knowledge to be no greater than ours. We are foolish to do so. David confesses that the knowledge God possesses is beyond his comprehension, “virtually declaring that words could not express this truth of the absoluteness with which all things stand patent to the eye of God.”

This leads, then to verse seven, “Where shall I go from your Spirit? Or where shall I flee from your presence?” Put simply, David realizes that he cannot even move from one place to another “without God seeing him, and following him with his eyes as he moved.” This can be either comforting or frustrating, depending on your beliefs. Personally, I find it comforting that I cannot go anywhere and be unseen by my Father in heaven. I cannot go to a place where I am “beyond the reach of divine power.”

. . . even there your hand shall lead me, and your right hand shall hold me.

Father, I celebrate your presence. The knowledge of your presence is comforting to me, and, when practiced consistently, truly effects my attitudes throughout the day. I pray for the knowledge of your presence today.

Come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

