You Formed My Inward Parts

“The time is always right to do what is right.”~~Martin Luther King, Jr. (BrainyQuote)

Today’s word of the day, from the Oxford English Dictionary, fits me perfectly. It is philobiblian. The noun means, “a book-lover,” and the adjective form means, “fond of books; devoted to literature.”

Today is Look For An Evergreen Day. I guess this is a sort of last chance day for people who like to go out and get real trees for their Christmas tree.

Last night was one of those late ones. We were down two people, as some are trying to use up their PTO before the end of the year, and one of our people is on a real vacation . . . in Australia. CEVA doesn’t allow vacation rollover, so we have to use it up before the year ends. To make matters worse, one of our web tools that is a necessary component of our process was down almost all day. We were able to work around it, but it slowed us down, considerably. The result was that I didn’t leave work until 6:30 last night. And I was the first one to leave! I decided 10 hours was enough, and there wasn’t a lot left, at that point.

Christi made chili while I was on my way home, and we watched Thursday night’s recording of the PBA World Championship. It was great fun to see five bowlers I had never seen before vie for the title of World Champion. The winner was Gary Faulkner, Jr., who not only became the 34th bowler in history to have his first tournament win be a major tournament, he was also only the second African-American to ever win a major tournament. He was on fire! He was left-handed, which normally gives bowlers an advantage, but in this championship bout, four of the five bowlers were lefties, which made it more of a challenge. Faulkner, however, had a track to the pocket that wouldn’t quit, while all of the other bowlers struggled greatly with consistency. He bowled in three of the games, as he was third seed, and bowled 262, 247, and 216. The only reason the last game was that low was that, by the tenth frame, he had already won the championship, and he missed a single pin spare, because it really didn’t matter any more.

Today is Yuleslide, in Grapevine. I’ll be leaving in just under an hour to go to Grapevine. We will rehearse for a couple of hours, then break for lunch. The performance will be at the Main Street Gazebo, at 2:00 PM.

On this date in:

1907–239 coal miners died in an explosion in Jacobs Creek, Pennsylvania
1924–The last Rolls Royce Silver Ghost was sold in London
1941–Adolf Hitler became Supreme Commander-in-Chief of the German Army

Today’s birthdays include:

1894–Ford C. Frick, American baseball commissioner
1899–Martin Luther King, Sr., American Baptist minister, father of Martin Luther King, Jr.
1906–Leonid Brezhnev, leader of the Soviet Union
1909–W. A. Criswell, American Baptist preacher
1918–Professor Longhair, American blues musician
1920–David Susskind, American TV talk show host
1920–Little Jimmy Dickens, American country singer
1925–Robert B. Sherman, American songwriter
1933–Cicely Tyson, American actress
1934–Al Kaline, American baseball player
1935–Joanne Weaver, American baseball player, All-American Girls Professional Baseball League
1941–Maurice White, American singer/songwriter, Earth, Wind & Fire
1944–Zal Yanovsky, Canadian guitarist, The Lovin’ Spoonful
1944–Tim Reid, American actor, WKRP in Cincinnati
1944–Alvin Lee, English singer/guitarist, Ten Years After
1946–Robert Urich, American actor
1963–Jennifer Beals, American actress
1969–Kristy Swanson, American actress, Buffy, the Vampire Slayer
1972–Alyssa Milano, American actress
1980–Jake Gyllenhaal, American actor

Robert B. Sherman was a songwriter who wrote songs with his brother, Richard Morton Sherman. You may not be familiar with his name, but I bet you know some of his songs. This list includes “A Spoonful of Sugar,” “Step In Time,” “The Wonderful Thing About Tiggers,” and this one:

Emily Bronte, V.C. Andrews, Jimmy Rogers, Hope Lange, and Dock Ellis are among notable deaths on this date.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Heart Aflame)

More from John Calvin’s commentary on Psalm 139, today, verses 11-16.

If I say, “Surely the darkness shall cover me, and the light about me be night,”
even the darkness is not dark to you; the night is bright as the day, for darkness is as light with you.
For you formed my inward parts; you knitted me together in my mother’s womb.
I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Wonderful are your works; my soul knows it very well.
My frame was not hidden from you, when I was being made in secret, intricately woven in the depths of the earth.
Your eyes saw my unformed substance; in your book were written, every one of them, the days that were formed for me, when as yet there was none of them.

We mistakenly think that we can hide from God, under cover of darkness. “In words we all grant that God is omniscient; meanwhile what none would ever think of controverting we secretly make no account of whatsoever, in so far as we make no scruple of mocking God, and lack even that reverence of him which we extend to one of our fellow-creatures.” What on earth does that mean? I think it is more fully explained in the next sentence. “We are ashamed to let men know and witness our delinquincies [sic]; but we are as indifferent to what God may think of us, as if our sins were covered and veiled from his inspection.”

The more comforting words come in verses 13ff, “For you formed my inward parts; you knitted me together in my mother’s womb.” For this reason, all the “windings and recesses of our hearts are known to him who, when we were inclosed [sic] in our mother’s womb, saw us as clearly and perfectly as if we had stood before him in the light of midday.”

It is no wonder that God, who miraculously created us, knitting us together in our mothers’ wombs, has such deep and exact knowledge of the internal workings of our hearts.

Father, I take great comfort in your perfect knowledge of me. I pray that you would remind me of this, from day to day, also reminding me that I cannot hide from you, nor should I try. I am fully open to you, as a book that you, yourself have written!

Come, Lord Jesus

Grace and peace, friends.

6 thoughts on “You Formed My Inward Parts

  1. P.S. Aren’t our sins “covered” from God by His choice, by the fact that His Son died on the Cross and “washed” them away? How else could He stand to be in our presence? I’ve thought of this quite often and wondered at this seeming impossibility. Hmm.

  2. I love how the last part of your prayer is worded… “I am fully open to you, as a book that you, yourself have written.” Never thought of it in that context, and it is so wonderful to know God has written our story and is directing it, even when we think we are the ones directing the controls. So humbling. Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

