To Satisfy the Abyss of Self

“When once we get intimate with Jesus we are never lonely, we never need sympathy, we can pour out all the time without being pathetic. The saint who is intimate with Jesus will never leave impressions of himself, but only the impression that Jesus is having unhindered way, because the last abyss of his nature has been satisfied by Jesus. The only impression left by such a life is that of the strong calm sanity that Our Lord gives to those who are intimate with Him.”~~Oswald Chambers

“I like nonsense; it wakes up the brain cells.”~~Dr. Seuss
(BrainyQuote)

Today’s word of the day, from Dictionary.com, is terpsichorean, meaning, simply, “pertaining to dancing.”

Today is Old Rock Day. You can take that however you want, but I’m pretty sure they are talking about ancient geological formations, not The Rolling Stones.

We got all caught up at work, yesterday, finally. And everyone pretty much left on time for the first day this week. What was strange was that I felt like I worked harder in eight hours yesterday than I did in 10 hours on Monday. It turned out to be a good day, although pretty hectic at times. I’ve still got a good bit of work left in my queue, but it’s not insurmountable.

I haven’t really said much about this, but Christi has not been happy with the car she got. There is just something not right about the way it handles and drives, when she’s in it for a while, such as driving back and forth to work. It sounds like they are giving her an opportunity to switch, perhaps today. It turns out that that particular car had been sitting in a remote lot for the better part of a year, somewhere around 200 days. She didn’t know that when she was testing it out. It’s just not good for a car to be sitting for that long. We’ll see how things work out.

Christi and I made it to Fitness 2000, last night, for our first workout of the year. It went well, I think. But then I had a horrific leg cramp in the middle of the night. Perhaps I should stretch after I work out, or something.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

O LORD my God, in you do I take refuge; save me from all my pursuers and deliver me,
lest like a lion they tear my soul apart, rending it in pieces, with none to deliver.
O LORD my God, if I have done this, if there is wrong in my hands,
if I have repaid my friend with evil or plundered my enemy without cause,
let the enemy pursue my soul and overtake it, and let him trample my life to the ground and lay my glory in the dust. Selah.
Arise, O LORD, in your anger; lift yourself up against the fury of my enemies; awake for me; you have appointed a judgment.
Let the assembly of the peoples be gathered about you; over it return on high.
The LORD judges the peoples; judge me, O LORD, according to my righteousness and according to the integrity that is in me.
Oh, let the evil of the wicked come to an end, and may you establish the righteous— you who test the minds and hearts, O righteous God!
My shield is with God, who saves the upright in heart.
God is a righteous judge, and a God who feels indignation every day.

Psalm 7:1-11

Most of us don’t mind (at least a whole lot) being punished for a wrong that we admit to. Sure, it’s not fun, and usually embarrassing, but we will tolerate it, because we know we deserve it. “It is the slights, discriminations, and rebukes that we don’t deserve that rankle.” We desire for the Lord to be our judge, “not to escape judgment, but so that our judgment will be fair.” I think “just” would be a better word than “fair,” at that point. I have often said that God never promised to be “fair,” but will always be “just.” I also think that verse 8 (the one in bold print) is a very bold prayer to pray, no pun intended. One would have to be very sure of one’s self to ask God to judge “according to my righteousness and according to the integrity that is in me.”

“O God, judge me. Weigh the evidence of my heart. Throw out the lies and excuses I use to defend disobedience and rebellion. Affirm my attempts at righteousness. In the name of Jesus who is my Advocate. Amen

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

Today’s reading is “Intimate with Jesus.”

Jesus said to him, “Have I been with you so long, and you still do not know me, Philip?
John 14:9

Jesus was not necessarily rebuking Philip in the above verse. He was, perhaps, leading him to a deeper truth. “The last One with whom we get intimate is Jesus.” The disciples all knew Jesus as a friend, as one who gave them this mysterious power to cast out demons. They were, in a sense, intimate, “but there was a much closer intimacy to come.”

Jesus called them “friends.” It is a rare thing to have a true friend, in this life. We all have people we call “friends.” But what does friendship truly mean? “It means identity in thought and heart and spirit.” How many people in your life can you say that about? The reason for this life “is to enable us to enter into this closest relationship with Jesus Christ.”

How much joy must Jesus feel when a disciple takes steps toward a closer intimacy with him? “When once we get intimate with Jesus we are never lonely, we never need sympathy, we can pour out all the time without being pathetic. The saint who is intimate with Jesus will never leave impressions of himself, but only the impression that Jesus is having unhindered way, because the last abyss of his nature has been satisfied by Jesus. The only impression left by such a life is that of the strong calm sanity that Our Lord gives to those who are intimate with Him.”

What an incredible statement that is. In 2012, the last time I read this devotional, I wrote in the book, “How do I get here?” Four years later, I still haven’t made it.

Father, draw me further into this intimacy with Christ. I have some ideas about what it means, but you have a way of shattering those ideas and bringing me further. Help me to make myself available. I pray for Jesus to satisfy those abysses in my self.

Come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

