Focusing on What We Have Been Given

“Life is the art of drawing without an eraser.”~~John W. Gardner
(BrainyQuote)
That reminds me of my father. He always did the crossword puzzles in pen. 🙂

Today’s word of the day, from the Oxford English Dictionary, is mussitate. I like this word. It means, “To mutter.” A 1623 dictionary defined it as, “to speak through the teeth.”

Today is Joy Germ Day. Let’s all get out there and spread some joy germs! “Park your cynicism at home.” Boy, that’s going to be tough! But I’ll try.

Not a lot to write, this morning. I will send out congratulations to Ken Griffey, Jr. and Mike Piazza, for being voted into the MLB Hall of Fame. Two very deserving players, indeed, especially Griffey. While never one of my favorite players, I have the utmost respect for him and what he brought to the game. I don’t know much about Piazza. he played for that other league. You know . . . the one that starts with “N.”

It’s Friday, which means there is a good chance of overtime. But that’s okay. I’m trying to spread joy. Oops. And look . . . I just went and got cynical up there. I don’t know what’s up for the weekend. We might go see that Star Wars thingy at the theater. We also have a new bookshelf to put together. We plan to work out Saturday and Sunday. And then we will have our usual worship gathering Sunday morning.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

If a man does not repent, God will whet his sword; he has bent and readied his bow;
he has prepared for him his deadly weapons, making his arrows fiery shafts.
Behold, the wicked man conceives evil and is pregnant with mischief and gives birth to lies.
He makes a pit, digging it out, and falls into the hole that he has made.
His mischief returns upon his own head, and on his own skull his violence descends.
I will give to the LORD the thanks due to his righteousness, and I will sing praise to the name of the LORD, the Most High.

Psalm 7:12-17

“Evil boomerangs. Principles of justice are inherent in moral behavior. Mischievous plans carefully made to bring misfortune to another eventually entrap their maker. Surprise!”

“Almighty God, judge of all the earth, keep me from every supposing that I am the judge of others, deciding their worth or conniving in vengeance. My job is to sing your praises and love my neighbor. Help me to stick to my task, for Jesus’ sake. Amen.”

(From Daily Guideposts 2016)

His master said to him, ‘Well done, good and faithful servant. You have been faithful over a little; I will set you over much. Enter into the joy of your master.’
Matthew 25:23

Katie Ganshert, contemporary romance author, writes of an encounter with her son during a time when she had been agonizing in prayer over the adoption process of a daughter from the Congo. “Mommy, just look at me!” her son said, as he grabbed her face.

Her heart was pierced as she realized that she had been so wrapped up in the adoption process that she had managed to neglect the son that she had right in front of her. “It was a much needed wake-up call,” she wrote.

We must be careful that we do not take God’s gifts and blessings for granted, especially when we are looking for another gift or blessing. Katie prays, at the end of the devotional, “Lord, let me never forsake the responsibilities and blessings in front of me for the sake of what You’ve not yet given.”

Give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.
1 Thessalonians 5:18
Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of lights with whom there is no variation or shadow due to change.
James 1:17

Father, may I not be guilty of neglecting what I have already been given for the sake of what you have not yet given. While it is certainly okay for me to pray for things that you have not granted, help me to focus on blessings that you have granted.

Come, Lord Jesus

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

