The Goal of Sanctification

“I think you have to pay for love with bitter tears.”~~Edith Piaf
(BrainyQuote)

Today’s word of the day, from the Oxford English Dictionary, is refragable, ” Capable of being refuted or controverted.”

Today is Bittersweet Chocolate Day. Once again, if the day has “chocolate” in the word, you can bet I will pick that one. And I love the bittersweet variety. If I see a bunch of Hershey’s minis, I will seek out the “Special Dark” pieces first.

We got a lot accomplished, yesterday! I feel quite proud of what we did, as well as for my commitment to make it happen. Christi got the new bookshelf put together, and we found a good place for it. Christi rearranged a chair, piano, and two tables for about two hours after that, while I walked back and forth between the bedroom, study, and front room to stock the new bookshelf and rearrange the others. Not only is the new shelf pleasing to the eye, every bookshelf in the house now looks much better, with absolutely NO books stacked in front of or on top of other books! There are two totes full of books that will be going to Half-Price Books, at some point, maybe even today, but probably not until next weekend. I made a commitment to Christi (are you sitting down?) that if I could not find a place for every book, I would either get rid of it or pick another one to get rid of so it would have a place. I wound up not having to make any really difficult decisions. This time. However, there really isn’t much, if any, more room, so if I get any more, something will have to go.

No one won the Powerball drawing last night. The projected jackpot for Wednesday night is $1.3 billion. That $1,300,000,000. Can you even imagine that much money?

This morning, we head up to the Northpark YMCA for our morning worship gathering for The Exchange Church. It happens at 10:15. If you are in the area, you are welcome to join us.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

I will give thanks to the LORD with my whole heart; I will recount all of your wonderful deeds.
I will be glad and exult in you; I will sing praise to your name, O Most High.
When my enemies turn back, they stumble and perish before your presence.
For you have maintained my just cause; you have sat on the throne, giving righteous judgment.
You have rebuked the nations; you have made the wicked perish; you have blotted out their name forever and ever.
The enemy came to an end in everlasting ruins; their cities you rooted out; the very memory of them has perished.
But the LORD sits enthroned forever; he has established his throne for justice,
and he judges the world with righteousness; he judges the peoples with uprightness.
The LORD is a stronghold for the oppressed, a stronghold in times of trouble.
And those who know your name put their trust in you, for you, O LORD, have not forsaken those who seek you.

Psalm 9:1-10

We are confident that the Lord knows what he is doing. When a nation falls, we who trust in God do not join in the lament or complaint, nor should we experience fear. Just as we are sure of being included in God’s salvation, we are confident in his plan.

“Most high God, I praise you for taking me within the stronghold of your grace where I daily experience your presence and know that you are for me in Jesus Christ, in whose name I pray. Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

I only have time for a quote, this morning, which I believe to be the keystone of this reading.

“In sanctification the regenerated soul deliberately gives up his right to himself to Jesus Christ, and identifies himself entirely with God’s interest in other men.”

Father, I have yet to learn this. I still struggle with claiming my own rights to myself. May your Spirit guide me to the place where I no longer consider my own rights, but am more identified with your interest in others.

Come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

2 thoughts on “The Goal of Sanctification

Leave a Reply

