Here I Am! Send Me!

“We must seek the loving-kindness of God in all the breadth and open-air of common life.”~~George A. Smith
(BrainyQuote)

Today’s word of the day, from Dictionary.com, is hebetude, “the state of being dull; lethargy.”

Today is Hot Pastrami Sandwich Day. That actually sounds delicious. I discovered a couple years ago that I like pastrami. We used to get it in Carl Buddig lunchmeat packages at Kroger, but then they stopped carrying the pastrami.

Boy, am I glad that’s over. I’m talking to that infernal Powerball thing. We didn’t win, but, then, I wouldn’t tell you if we did, would I? 😀 Three people won, from California, Florida, and Tennessee. The real test of character is, are they happy they won, or angry that they’re having to share $1.5 with two other people? I matched one number out of five lines, and it wasn’t the powerball, so there’s more fodder for the recycling bin. And I won’t be seeing one of those again for a while.

We didn’t get to the gym last night, as planned. Christi texted me, as I was driving home, saying she had a massive headache. Possible either a migraine or sinus, she wasn’t sure. It’s okay, this morning, though, so that’s good. I hope it stays that way. Sometimes, these things recur over several days for her.

It’s Thursday, so only two more work days this week. I’m not sure what this weekend holds. As far as I know, we have no plans, other than the ladies of our church having a lunch thing Sunday, after the worship gathering.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

In the LORD I take refuge; how can you say to my soul, “Flee like a bird to your mountain,
for behold, the wicked bend the bow; they have fitted their arrow to the string to shoot in the dark at the upright in heart;
if the foundations are destroyed, what can the righteous do?”
The LORD is in his holy temple; the LORD’s throne is in heaven; his eyes see, his eyelids test the children of man.
The LORD tests the righteous, but his soul hates the wicked and the one who loves violence.
Let him rain coals on the wicked; fire and sulfur and a scorching wind shall be the portion of their cup.
For the LORD is righteous; he loves righteous deeds; the upright shall behold his face.

Psalm 11

As Christians, we do not have the luxury of “escape.” And by escape, I believe “running away” is meant. The psalmist insists that his refuge is in God, not in running away from the problem. To escape indicates a loss of faith. If we run away, it means we believe that nothing can be done and the only thing left is to save our own skin. “The psalmist will not tolerate such counsel. ‘Since God is involved in the world,’ he says, ‘I will be also.'”

“O God, I don’t want to be like the disciples who, in the hour of trial, forsook Jesus and fled. When I feel like escaping, avoiding the difficulties and challenges in life, give me the strength to stand fast, in the name of Jesus who is my rock and my salvation. Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

Today’s reading is “Called of God.”

And I heard the voice of the Lord saying, “Whom shall I send, and who will go for us?” Then I said, “Here I am! Send me.”
Isaiah 6:8

Chambers states that this call was not made specifically to Isaiah, but that Isaiah simply overheard it and responded. I’m not sure I agree with that assessment, as it was Isaiah’s vision, specifically given to him. There is still, however, some deep truth in this reading.

“Whether or not I hear God’s call depends upon the state of my ears; and what I hear depends upon my disposition.” I do agree with this statement. My disposition has a lot to do with whether I hear God’s call on my life, at any given moment.

Matthew 22:14 says, For many are called, but few are chosen. As I read Chambers’s writings, he is obviously not a “Calvinist.” However, I agree with his statement on who the chosen ones are. “The chosen ones are those who have come into a relationship with God through Jesus Christ whereby their disposition has been altered and their ears unstopped, and they hear the still small voice questioning all the time, ‘Who will go for us?'” I’m sure, however, that we would disagree as to how these “chosen ones” got to that point. I believe that the altering of the disposition and the unstopping of the ears has to be done by God and God alone. Once that happens, however, it is up to me to keep those ears unstopped by a steady diet of devotion and prayer. I am never on my own in this quest, though, as the Holy Spirit is always there to help me. And if I allow the Spirit to bring me face to face with my Father, I will hear that voice that Isaiah heard, and, like Isaiah, will respond, “Here I am! Send me.”

Father, first, I am convicted of trying to escape. Forgive me for the thought that I could, by the odds-firmly-against-me winning of a lottery, escape the discomforts and trials of the daily work life. Second, I pray that my ears stay open and my disposition stay favorable to the hearing of your call on my life. Even at this age, I wonder, sometimes, what is next in your plan for me. There obviously is still some plan for me, as I am still here. Help me to hear it and respond accordingly.

Come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

