Psalm 23

“Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there.”~~Will Rogers
(BrainQuote)

Today’s word of the day, from Dictionary.com, is reify, “to convert into or regard as a concrete thing: to reify a concept.

Today is Strawberry Ice Cream Day. I love strawberry ice cream, so that sounds absolutely delicious!!

I didn’t find out the news until I got to work, yesterday morning. I’m not sure when it broke, but to see that we lost Alan Rickman only days after we lost David Bowie was almost too much to handle. I get it . . . these are just people, just like you and me. They put their pants on one leg at a time, just like me. But I loved Alan Rickman as an actor. He was brilliant in so many movies. It’s interesting to see what people remember him most for. There’s one group that immediately says Die Hard, while another group that immediately says Harry Potter. I’m more in the Harry Potter group, but I remember him well in Sweeney Todd, the Demon Barber of Fleet Street. Either way, there are many people in my oldest daughter’s generation who fell in love with Rickman. You can see a list of all of his work on his IMDB page.

Someone has tweeted “Everyone form a protective circle around Ian McKellen and Patrick Stewart.”

Today is Friday. Which means there is a chance of overtime, this evening. Other than that, not much going on, but the weekend is nigh.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

Save, O LORD, for the godly one is gone; for the faithful have vanished from among the children of man.
Everyone utters lies to his neighbor; with flattering lips and a double heart they speak.
May the LORD cut off all flattering lips, the tongue that makes great boasts,

those who say, “With our tongue we will prevail, our lips are with us; who is master over us?”
“Because the poor are plundered, because the needy groan, I will now arise,” says the LORD; “I will place him in the safety for which he longs.”
The words of the LORD are pure words, like silver refined in a furnace on the ground, purified seven times.
You, O LORD, will keep them; you will guard us from this generation forever.
On every side the wicked prowl, as vileness is exalted among the children of man.

Psalm 12

There is a contrast in this psalm between the lies of men and the promises of God. We use words to manipulate, saying whatever will help us get our way. “God speaks in promises that are pure, without a trace of fantasy or deceit in them.”

“I thank you, eternal God, that not one of your words to me is bloated by boasting or distorted by flattery. I take each one as simple reality. I believe what you tell me about my salvation and trust your promises, even as you speak to me in the Word made flesh, Jesus Christ. Amen.”

For some reason, I feel compelled to close this day’s devotion by simply quoting Psalm 23.

The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want.
He makes me lie down in green pastures. He leads me beside still waters.
He restores my soul. He leads me in paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.
Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me.
You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies; you anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows.
Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life, and I shall dwell in the house of the LORD forever.

Father, make this real in my life today. Make me to understand that I shall never lack for anything that I need, as long as I follow you, my shepherd. Make me to rest, so that I can work. Establish good rhythm in my life.

Come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

