Devotion vs. Service

“We must learn to live together as brothers or perish together as fools.”~~Martin Luther King, Jr.
(BrainyQuote)

Today’s word of the day, from Dictionary.com, is aeonian, which means “eternal; everlasting.”

Today is Winnie the Pooh Day. Because it’s the birthday of A.A. Milne, the author who gave us one of the most lovable sets of characters ever.

Of course, it’s also Martin Luther King, Jr Day, a holiday that is based around the great humanitarian’s birthday, which was January 15. Some of you will have the day off, but not me. I’ve never worked at a place that got all those gov’mint holidays off.

We had a good morning at church, yesterday, and then Christi and Stephanie went to lunch with the ladies of the church. They had a great time at Kincaid’s Hamburgers. Christi said they two long tables full of ladies, there. That’s pretty awesome. I stopped at Dairy Queen and got a burger and fries. The burger was okay, but the fries were quite disappointing. Not the Dairy Queen fries I remember. Then I went home and played Fallout 4 until Christi and Stephanie got home.

Stephanie suggested we go bowling, which we did. We had a great time. Christi and I had good games on the first game, and not so great on the second. Stephanie actually did better on the second game. It was good fun, though.

So it’s Monday again, and I have band practice, this evening, so it’s a long day. But the band practice is the best part of the day. I’m so glad that I got hooked up with them.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

O LORD, who shall sojourn in your tent? Who shall dwell on your holy hill?
He who walks blamelessly and does what is right and speaks truth in his heart;
who does not slander with his tongue and does no evil to his neighbor, nor takes up a reproach against his friend;
in whose eyes a vile person is despised, but who honors those who fear the LORD; who swears to his own hurt and does not change;
who does not put out his money at interest and does not take a bribe against the innocent. He who does these things shall never be moved.

Psalm 15

Developing good habits is like stacking stones for a building. As they are put together, they will eventually create a solid structure, “a character that is ‘steadfast, immovable, always excelling in the work of the LORD’ (1 Corinthians 15:58).”

This is one of those passages that seems to be a good checklist of my life and character. How am I doing at walking blamelessly, doing what is right, speaking truth in my heart, not slandering or doing evil to my neighbor, or taking up reproach against my friends?

“Even as you have shown me the way, O Christ, help me to walk in it. Help me to acquire the habits that will make me dependable in your service as I follow in the steps of my Savior. Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

Today’s reading is “It Is the Lord!”

Thomas answered him, “My Lord and my God!”
John 20:28

Oswald Chambers asks an interesting question at the beginning of this reading: “How many of us are set upon Jesus Christ slaking our thirst when we ought to be satisfying him?”

I should be pouring out my life to him in “a life of unsullied, uncompromising and unbridled devotion to the Lord Jesus,” satisfying him in whatever role and wherever he places me.

“Beware of anything that competes with loyalty to Jesus Christ. The greatest competitor of devotion to Jesus is service for Him.” This is one of Chambers’s repeating themes in this devotional book. Service is good, but, too often, it competes with actual devotion to Christ. Service, itself, can become an idol to us.

Father, as you continue working on and in me, chisel away that which is not “unsullied, uncompromising and unbridled devotion” to Christ. May I serve, but only out of the devotion that I have been drawn to. Teach me to be satisfying to you.

Come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

