God Does Not Need My Help

“Love is an irresistible desire to be irresistibly desired.”~~Robert Frost
(BrainyQuote)

Today’s word of the day, from Dictionary.com, is kerflooey. No, really. I swear I’m not making this up. It means, “to cease functioning, especially suddenly and completely; fall apart; fail.”

Today is Popcorn Day!! I could just stop right here! Popcorn is, like, my favorite food on the planet!

2016 continues to be a bit of a bummer, as years go. Yesterday afternoon, as I was getting ready to walk out the door from work, I received a text from Christi telling me that Glenn Frey, of Eagles, had passed away at the age of 67. Another one gone. In addition, a lesser known drummer passed away at the same age, Dale Griffin, of Mott the Hoople. So let’s recap. Natalie Cole, Pierre Boulez, David Bowie, Celine Dion’s husband, Celine Dion’s brother, Alan Rickman, Glenn Frey, and Dale Griffin. And that’s not even counting Lemmy, who died shortly before the end of the year. But eight people in less than three weeks of 2016. I move that we send this year back and get a new one.

Either way, I think I’m not getting out of bed next Monday.

Also, in the not good news category, and really much more important than anything in the above paragraph, I got a call from my mother yesterday, that the son of one of my cousin’s was in a coma, and had been since probably last Thursday. He’s diabetic and was discovered by his mother on Friday. They got him to the hospital, and his blood sugar was at zero. I didn’t even know that could happen! Supposedly, though, last night, things were looking up, as I had some messages from one the wife of one of my other cousins. It’s all rather confusing, because there were reports that there was no brain activity on Sunday, but that there was pupil movement yesterday, and an MRI showed no brain damage. There is no new information this morning, though, so for those of you who lean toward prayer, it would be appreciated if you would lift them up.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

Preserve me, O God, for in you I take refuge.
I say to the LORD, “You are my Lord; I have no good apart from you.”
As for the saints in the land, they are the excellent ones, in whom is all my delight.
The sorrows of those who run after another god shall multiply; their drink offerings of blood I will not pour out or take their names on my lips.
The LORD is my chosen portion and my cup; you hold my lot.
The lines have fallen for me in pleasant places; indeed, I have a beautiful inheritance.

Psalm 16:1-6

“Choosing is connecting. When we choose God we do not narrow our lives, we enlarge them. We make connection with a vast heritage, a country where God’s presence is constant and pleasures abound.” (I do love Eugene Peterson’s writing!)

“I had no idea, O Lord, your world was so rich and vast. I did not know I was heir to such a fortune. In gladness I explore and enjoy the world where you create and redeem in a profusion of joy. Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

Today’s reading is “Vision and Darkness.”

As the sun was going down, a deep sleep fell on Abram. And behold, dreadful and great darkness fell upon him.
Genesis 15:12

I’m running a little short on time, so I’ll just try to get the gist of this reading. Basically, Chambers says that, when God gives us a vision, and it is followed by a period of darkness, we need to wait. “Never try and help God fulfill His word.” How true this is. Abraham made a real mess of things when he and Sarah tried to “help” God produce that heir that he had promised. The Middle East is still paying the price of that foible, today!

God does not need our help to work his plan.

Where is my confidence? Is it in the flesh, or have I gotten beyond that? Is it in books and prayers, or is it in God, Himself? “As soon as God becomes real, other people become shadows. Nothing that other saints do or say can ever perturb the one who is built on God.”

Whoa. What did that last sentence say?? “Nothing that other saints do or say can ever perturb the one who is built on God.”

I most definitely have not arrived at that point, yet!

Father, I need more of that confidence. I confess that I still am looking for too much help from books and other sources. Not that they are bad, but if I am placing all of my hope in people who write books to draw me into closer intimacy with you, then I am definitely misguided. May my confidence be wholly in you. Help me to trust fully in you with my whole heart. Teach me your way, that I may walk in your truth. Help me to abide in Christ.

Come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

4 thoughts on “God Does Not Need My Help

  1. Jeff, another ‘gold mine’ day of riches on your blog! Like the Frost quote, ‘kerflooey’ and that it’s Popcorn day. The Peterson quote may be added to my Faith+ page (great writer!). The Oswald devo. reminds me to rest more in God in order to be unperturbed. Sharing the sadness of the loss of some of our well-known ‘iconic’ people…with prayers for your cousin’s son… Blessings!

    1. Thank you so much!! Such encouraging words. And, yes, Peterson, I have loved him for years. I’m one of the fans of his Message, in the midst of people who disdain it. Thank you for your encouragement and prayers!

Leave a Reply

