“Look Unto Me . . .”

“The mouth obeys poorly when the heart murmurs.”~~Voltaire
(BrainyQuote)

Today’s word of the day, from Dictionary.com, is sitzmark, “a sunken area in the snow marking a backward fall of a skier.” I’m starting to think they’re making these up, now. 🙂 But I looked it up, and other sources have that word, too. Hilarious.

Today is Answer Your Cat’s Questions Day. Believe me, I certainly would, if I could only understand what the question was!

Once again, there is no change or news in my cousin’s son’s situation. We certainly appreciate your continued prayers.

I don’t have much else to write about, this morning, on a personal level. Christi and I are considering a “date night,” tonight. We don’t do that enough. I’ll let you know, tomorrow, what we wound up doing.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

Keep me as the apple of your eye; hide me in the shadow of your wings,
from the wicked who do me violence, my deadly enemies who surround me.
They close their hearts to pity; with their mouths they speak arrogantly.
They have now surrounded our steps; they set their eyes to cast us to the ground.
He is like a lion eager to tear, as a young lion lurking in ambush.
Arise, O LORD! Confront him, subdue him! Deliver my soul from the wicked by your sword,
from men by your hand, O LORD, from men of the world whose portion is in this life. You fill their womb with treasure; they are satisfied with children, and they leave their abundance to their infants.
As for me, I shall behold your face in righteousness; when I awake, I shall be satisfied with your likeness.

Psalm 17:8-15

Most of us probably feel like we are just a number, either in our workplace, or, even more tragically, in our church. If you attend a large church, you might feel that way, and, for some people, you might be okay with that. But, with God, “no one is just another number.” To our Father in heaven, each of us “is a prized object of affection to be cared for and cherished.” The fact that he recognizes each of us makes it possible for us to know him.

“I’ll never understand, gracious God, how I can be singled out from the millions of humankind for your love. But I don’t need to understand it: I accept it! In Jesus’ name. Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

Today’s reading is “What Am I Looking At?”

“Turn to me and be saved . . .”
Isaiah 45:22

What are we looking at, to save us? Are we expecting the blessings of God to show up and save us? The verse above, in the KJV, says, “Look unto me and be ye saved.” Chambers says, “The great difficulty spiritually is to concentrate on God, and it is His blessings that make it difficult.” We all know that trouble in our lives almost always causes us to focus on God. But what happens when the blessings come? We focus on those blessings instead of the one who gave them! We need to narrow everything down until all we can see is Jesus Christ.

Sometimes, even the “lives of the saints become a hindrance to our concentration on God.” It is certainly not wrong to look to the saints of old for inspiration, but let them not hinder us from our focus on Christ.

“Rouse yourself up and look to God. Build your hope on Him.” Regardless of how many things press in on us . . . may we look only to God in Christ.

Father, train my spiritual eyes to look only at Jesus for salvation, for life. Teach me your way, that I may walk in your truth. Unite my heart to fear your name. Help me to narrow my vision down to the point where all the other things don’t matter any more. Nothing else matters.

Come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

