No Hurrying

“I have learned to be with those I like is enough.”~~Walt Whitman
(BrainyQuote)

Today’s word of the day, from the Oxford English Dictionary, is acatalepsy. While you might think it had something to do with cats and epilepsy, that is not correct. This is a very deep and philosophical word, meaning, “Unknowability, incomprehensibility, originally as a characteristic of all things, according to the ancient Sceptics. Hence also: scepticism, profession of ignorance.”

Today is Pie Day. Not to be confused with the other Pi Day, which falls on March 14. Either day makes having pie a priority. So, have some pie, and if you’re in the neighborhood of Glen Rose, be sure and stop by the Pie Peddlers, on the square.

We had a most wonderful time, last night, as we took it upon ourselves to have a date night. We haven’t done that in a long time. We started out at Joe’s Coffee Shop, in Watauga, which is only open for dinner on Friday nights. After a nice dinner, we headed over to Stage West, where we saw their production of “Sexy Laundry,” a play about a couple who have been married for twenty-five years, but have discovered that they are in a sort of rut. It was funny, awkward, and, at times, quite painful. We weren’t expecting the painful part. It caused us to reflect a bit on our thirty years of marriage, during which reflection we decided that, while there might have been bits of that play that reflected us, for the most part, it did not. One aspect that was, of course, missing from the play, was the spiritual aspect of our marriage. While I would not be so arrogant to boldly state that our marriage is 100% centered around Jesus, he is definitely a major part of it. And while I might share some of the concern of the characters in the play that I may, at times, not really know who I am or what my purpose in life is, when I’m in tune with God, that really doesn’t matter, because, it is at those times that I realize that it’s not about me, and who I am, but it’s about him, and who he wants me to be. I’m relatively sure that the playwright did not have that in mind, but who knows? At any rate, we had a lovely time. Every time we see a play, which seems to be only once every few years, we say we need to do that more often. Perhaps, this time, we will make good on that.

We have no real plans for today, other than, probably, a trip to the grocery store, after a while. I’m starting to get pretty hungry, so I think I’ll hurry and get to the devotion so I can get finished.

On this date in 1957, the toy company Wham-O produced the first Frisbees. You can read the story at History.com.

Today’s birthdays include:

1737–John Hancock, American patriot
1832–Edouard Manet, French artist
1898–Randolph Scott, American actor
1910–Django Reinhardt, Belgian guitarist
1944–Rutger Hauer, Dutch actor
1948–Anita Pointer, American singer, Pointer Sisters
1950–Richard Dean Anderson, American actor, MacGyver
1953–Robin Zander, American singer, Cheap Trick
1957–Princess Caroline of Monaco
1964–Mariska Hargitay, American actress
1974–Tiffani Thiessen, American actress, Saved By the Bell
1982–Wily Mo Pena, Dominican baseball player

I don’t know much about Randolph Scott, but I like this song by the Statler Brothers.

Django Reinhardt was born on this date in 1910. He grew up as a gypsy, and, when in 1925, he was badly injured in a caravan fire. He almost lost a leg, and the third and fourth fingers of his left hand were badly burned, and became fused together. This is why, in the video, he mostly only uses two fingers to play guitar better than I could ever hope to play with all of mine.

Finally, Robin Zander, a name I am not so familiar with, is the lead singer for Cheap Trick, a name that most people are very familiar with.

Arthur Guiness, William Pitt the Younger, Edvard Munch, Vic Ames, Terry Kath, Samuel Barber, Salvador Dali, Allen Collins, Nell Carter, Bob Keeshan, Johnny Carson, and Jack LaLanne are among notable deaths on this date.

I have to comment on Terry Kath, the lead guitar player for Chicago, until his accidental death in 1978. At least they said it was accidental. I guess we’ll never know for sure. He pointed a gun at his head and said, “Don’t worry about it … look, the clip is not even in it.” Except it was, and it had one round in it. Here is a song from Chicago’s eighth album. “Oh, Thank You Great Spirit” is Terry’s tribute to Jimi Hendrix.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

I love you, O LORD, my strength.
The LORD is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer, my God, my rock, in whom I take refuge, my shield, and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold.
I call upon the LORD, who is worthy to be praised, and I am saved from my enemies.
The cords of death encompassed me; the torrents of destruction assailed me;
the cords of Sheol entangled me; the snares of death confronted me.
In my distress I called upon the LORD; to my God I cried for help. From his temple he heard my voice, and my cry to him reached his ears.

Psalm 18:1-6

Even though we have never “seen” God, some of our most solid experiences are with him. “This psalm, in a sequence of stunning images and affirmations, recounts the experience.”

“‘While I draw this fleeting breath, when my eyelids close in death, when I soar to worlds unknown, see Thee on Thy judgment throne, Rock of Ages, cleft for me, let me hide myself in Thee’ (Augustus M. Toplady, ‘Rock of Ages’). Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

Today’s reading is “Transformed by Insight.”

And we all, with unveiled face, beholding the glory of the Lord, are being transformed into the same image.
2 Corinthians 3:18

“The outstanding characteristic of a Christian is this unveiled frankness before God so that the life becomes a mirror for other lives.” Does this sound arrogant? I think it would be if I thought that I had reached that point. I strive to be that way, but frequently believe that other people have achieved it, as I observe their lives. If we allow ourselves to be filled with the Spirit, we can be transformed, and become mirrors for other people. I’m sure that you have met people that have that kind of relationship with God. “Beware of anything which would sully that mirror in you; it is nearly always a good thing, the good that is not the best.” That is one of Chambers’s recurring themes, settling for “good” instead of seeking the “best.”

We must concentrate on keeping our lives open towards God. Everything else can fall by the way side, excepting that one thing. We get in a hurry; things rush at us from all sides, and this obscures that concentration on God on a daily basis. ” . . . never allow anything to obscure the life that is hid with Christ in God. Never be hurried out of the relationship of abiding in Him.” That is my theme for this year, in case you can’t tell by the new header. Abiding. My verse for the year is John 15:4. Abide in me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit by itself, unless it abides in the vine, neither can you, unless you abide in me.

Father, I pray that you would continue to work your truth into my life, that I might abide in you, and, thereby, bear fruit that is satisfactory to your eyes. Help me to keep my life open towards you, not allowing anything to obscure this life or “sully” my “mirror.” May I become a mirror in which others can see your grace; but never let me come to the place where I believe that has happened. I would fight against pride and seek humility.

Come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

2 thoughts on “No Hurrying

Leave a Reply

