God Will Work However He Pleases

“The scientific theory I like best is that the rings of Saturn are composed entirely of lost airline luggage.”~~Mark Russell
(BrainyQuote)

Today’s word of the day, from Dictionary.com, is cupidity, “eager or excessive desire, especially to possess something; greed; avarice.”

Today is Bubble Wrap Appreciation Day. I see quite a bit of that where I work. I’ll be sure and appreciate some.

Yesterday was a fairly restful day. After church, we ordered pizza (which also served for dinner for me, as well), and watched War Room. It was a little slow getting started, and I think the acting wasn’t always real great, but the story was very good, and quite inspirational. Essentially, it’s about the power of prayer in people’s lives, which I believe in strongly. It also addressed the concept of teaching others about it, which is similar to the concept of discipleship that our church employs. It’s not something you hold on to; you have to share it with someone else, and then they have to share it, and so on.

After that, we watched the week’s episode of Saturday Night Live, which was mostly a waste of time. Someone thought it would be a good idea to have Ronda Rousey, the MMA fighter, be the host. I’m not sure if they were trying to build her ego, after her brutal defeat by Holly Holm, or what, but it was terrible. I think it was every bit as bad as the time they had Wayne Gretzky host. There were a couple of good skits, and the Weekend Update is usually good, but the rest was very forgettable. But, you know, SNL has weeks like that.

It’s Monday again, which means I have band practice tonight. It will be a long day for me, but the best part is at the end. Sadly, I went another week without practicing. Oh, well.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

He sent from on high, he took me; he drew me out of many waters.
He rescued me from my strong enemy and from those who hated me, for they were too mighty for me.
They confronted me in the day of my calamity, but the LORD was my support.
He brought me out into a broad place; he rescued me, because he delighted in me.
The LORD dealt with me according to my righteousness; according to the cleanness of my hands he rewarded me.
For I have kept the ways of the LORD, and have not wickedly departed from my God.
For all his rules were before me, and his statutes I did not put away from me.
I was blameless before him, and I kept myself from my guilt.
So the LORD has rewarded me according to my righteousness, according to the cleanness of my hands in his sight.

Psalm 18:16-24

You have often heard it said that people need to pick themselves up “by the bootstraps,” when they’re down. Well, we can’t do that, “even when the bootstraps are made of the finest religious leather.” We cannot lift ourselves up to God, but “God can, and does, reach down and lift us up to himself.”

“By your grace, O God, I will simply relax in your salvation, letting you do whatever you need to do to draw me to yourself. Salvation is your work, not mine. Thank you, in Jesus’ name. Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

Today’s reading is “Leave Room for God.”

But when it pleased God . . .
Galatians 1:15 (KJV)

How many of us learn to “make room for God,” as Christian workers? “We calculate and estimate, and say that this and that will happen, and we forget to make room for God to come in as He chooses.” How surprised are we when God breaks into our meetings and/or preaching in ways we do not expect? We must not look for God to come in in any particular way; we should simply look for him. “That is the way to make room for Him. Expect Him to come, but to not expect Him only in a certain way.”

We should always be in a state of expectancy, but leaving “room for God to come in as He likes.”

Father, forgive us when we get comfortable with you and expect you to always work in certain ways. Help us to be expectant, yet not presumptuous. How often do we miss you completely because we were looking for you in a different way? You might have been working over here, but we were looking over there, which caused us to miss you entirely. Help us to be ready for you to work however you please.

Come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

