Bloom Where You’re Planted

“Love and dignity cannot share the same abode.”~~Ovid
(BrainyQuote)

Today’s word of the day, from Dictionary.com, is nimiety, “excess; overabundance.”

Today is Spouse’s Day, which was, apparently, originally intended to lift up and encourage the spouses of those in the military.

We had a good band practice, last night, working primarily on “Old Home Days,” by Charles Ives, and “Original Suite,” by Gordon Jacob. During this time, I decided that Ives must not have liked trombones, because our part is relatively boring. At the end of rehearsal, we worked on the second movement of “Lincolnshire Posy,” by Percy Grainger, and a little bit of the fourth movement, but never got to the place where the bones play in that movement. I really need to start practicing some of this music in between Mondays.

Not much else going on, at the moment. As far as my cousin’s situation, I have heard that her son was breathing on his own, as of this past weekend. That’s encouraging, I think. I’ve been praying for a miracle.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

With the merciful you show yourself merciful; with the blameless man you show yourself blameless;
with the purified you show yourself pure; and with the crooked you make yourself seem tortuous.
For you save a humble people, but the haughty eyes you bring down.
For it is you who light my lamp; the LORD my God lightens my darkness.
For by you I can run against a troop, and by my God I can leap over a wall.
This God—his way is perfect; the word of the LORD proves true; he is a shield for all those who take refuge in him.

Psalm 18:25-30

“Salvation produces exuberance. Instead of the sweaty, grinding, moral self-help many associate with the religious life, the psalmist displays the dancing, leaping exhilarations of grace.” (There’s no way I could have paraphrased that and done it justice!)

“Great God: praises explode in my throat! Energies of love spring loose in my hands and feet! All praise to you. All love to my brothers. In the name of Jesus Christ. Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

Today’s reading is “Look Again and Consecrate.”

But if God so clothes the grass of the field, which today is alive and tomorrow is thrown into the oven, will he not much more clothe you, O you of little faith?
Matthew 6:30

Sometimes the simplest statements of Jesus can be the most complicated, especially if we are not being simple, ourselves. Jesus is teaching, in this passage, that we must not allow the cares of the world to come in and complicate our relationship with our Father. We think we know better than Jesus, sometimes.

“Look at the birds,” Jesus says. ” . . . their main aim is to obey the principle of life that is in them and God looks after them.” If we are rightly related to Christ, obeying his Spirit, God will look after our “feathers.”

“Look at the flowers,” Jesus says. ” . . . they grow where they are put. Many of us refuse to grow where we are put, consequently we take root nowhere.” If we will be obedient to the life that God has given us, God will take care of all the other things. “If we are not experiencing the ‘much more,’ it is because we are not obeying the life God has given us, we are taken up with confusing considerations.”

What is consecration? “Consecration means the continual separation of myself to one particular thing. We cannot consecrate once and for all. Am I continually separating myself to consider God every day of my life?”

Father, I still need help learning these principles. I’m too eager to return to a place where I once was, rather than being obedient to the life that you have given me right now. Never mind what was. Never mind what I think I could have been. This is about what you want me to be NOW. Teach me to accept this and consider you daily. Let me not complicate my consecration.

Come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

