Don’t

“We are all inventors, each sailing out on a voyage of discovery, guided each by a private chart, of which there is no duplicate. The world is all gates, all opportunities.”~~Ralph Waldo Emerson
(Eduro)

Today’s word of the day, from Dictionary.com, is pugnacious, “inclined to quarrel or fight readily; quarrelsome; belligerent; combative.” Some days I feel more pugnacious than others.

Today is Chocolate Cake Day. Do I need to say anything else?

So it turns out that the news of my cousin’s son breathing on his own wasn’t so good. They have placed him in hospice, and have given him three to six days. This is not entirely unexpected, but I will keep praying for a miracle.

Last night, we tried a new recipe which really consisted of nothing more than adding a seasoning mix to some chicken and baking it. It was quite tasty, though, and we had some green beans and corn along with it. We watched this week’s episode of Downton Abbey, in which Daisy almost succeeded in sticking her foot so far up her mouth that it would have had to have been surgically removed. Bless her heart. I’m also very concerned that something is seriously wrong with Lord Grantham. We also watched the series premier of Angie Tribeca, a new comedy by Steve and Nancy Carrell. We won’t be watching any more of it. It’s just stupid. Too much slapstick, non-stop, with nothing serious at all. I did laugh at some of the jokes, but it was like a string of bad Steve Carrell jokes, all smashed together, with no break between them. I was disappointed.

It’s Wednesday, Hump Day. Let’s get this week over with.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

For who is God, but the LORD? And who is a rock, except our God?—
the God who equipped me with strength and made my way blameless.
He made my feet like the feet of a deer and set me secure on the heights.
He trains my hands for war, so that my arms can bend a bow of bronze.
You have given me the shield of your salvation, and your right hand supported me, and your gentleness made me great.
You gave a wide place for my steps under me, and my feet did not slip.
I pursued my enemies and overtook them, and did not turn back till they were consumed.
I thrust them through, so that they were not able to rise; they fell under my feet.
For you equipped me with strength for the battle; you made those who rise against me sink under me.
You made my enemies turn their backs to me, and those who hated me I destroyed.
They cried for help, but there was none to save; they cried to the LORD, but he did not answer them.
I beat them fine as dust before the wind; I cast them out like the mire of the streets.

Psalm 18:31-42

“‘There’s a wideness in God’s mercy,
like the wideness of the sea;
there’s a kindness in His justice,
which is more than liberty.
for the love of God is broader
than the measures of man’s mind;
and the heart of the Eternal
is most wonderfully kind’
(F.W. Faber, ‘There’s a Wideness in God’s Mercy’).”

“You delivered me, God, from the tangled and cramped alleys of sin and put me in the spacious country of mercy and justice. Now I have plenty of room to walk in your ways. Assist me to follow ‘in his steps’ even as I pray in Jesus’ name. Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

Today’s reading is “Look Again and Think.”

. . . do not be anxious about your life . . .
Matthew 6:25

“A warning which needs to be reiterated is that the cares of this world, the deceitfulness of riches, and the lust of other things entering in, will choke all that God puts in.” This is something that we will never be free from. It will either threaten us in the area of clothes and food, of money or the lack thereof, or friends or the lack thereof, or of difficult circumstances. If we don’t “allow the Spirit of God to raise up the standard against it, these things will come in like a flood.”

I’m a champion worrier. I got it from my mother. She thinks she is the champion. I would contest that. I make up circumstances that don’t even exist yet, and worry about them! But Jesus commands us to not do that! The Lord tells us that the only thing we should be concerned about is our relationship with him. Of course, our “common sense” rails against this. We have to consider how we shall live, what we shall wear and eat and drink! Jesus says, “Don’t.” And do not make the mistake of thinking that he doesn’t quite understand what we are going through. “Jesus Christ knows our circumstances better than we do, and He says we must not think about these things, so as to make them the one concern of our life.”

Sufficient for the day is its own trouble. (Matthew 6:34) It’s early in the morning. How much “evil” has already begun to threaten me? What have I already found to be worried about? “What kind of mean little imps have been looking in and saying–Now what are you going to do next month–this summer? ‘Be anxious for nothing,’ Jesus says.” But if God so clothes the grass of the field, which today is alive and tomorrow is thrown into the oven, will he not much more clothe you, O you of little faith? We need to keep our eyes fixed on the “much more” of our heavenly Father!

Father, teach me this truth! A huge percentage of the things that I find myself worrying about are 100% out of my control! It is pointless to worry; it does no good whatsoever! And it shows that I lack faith! Teach me to trust you. After all these years, I still struggle with this. May your grace rain down and calm me in the face of these “mean little imps.”

Come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

P.S. I know it looks like I forgot to finish the title. I did not. That’s it. “Don’t.”

Leave a Reply

