The Call of God

“Men always want to be a woman’s first love – women like to be a man’s last romance.”~~Oscar Wilde
(BrainyQuote)

Today’s word of the day, from Dictionary.com, is, appropriately, aeromancy, which is “the prediction of future events from observation of weather conditions.”

Today is Sled Dog Day. The Iditarod doesn’t start until March 5, though.

I didn’t go to band practice last night. I left work at the usual time, but I just wasn’t “feeling it,” as they say. I texted Christi, and she advised me to not go, and that she wasn’t quite “right,” either. So she stopped and got BBQ while I stopped and got drinks from Sonic, and we just relaxed at home together. I’m not concerned about the feelings that I’m experiencing, right now. I fully expect them to be better by the end of the week.

Today is Tuesday, and it’s February 2, which is also known as Groundhog Day. I’m sure that Punxsatawney Phil is up and about, and will seen either see his shadow or not. Frankly, we have not had any “winter,” to speak of down here in Texas, and I’m not sure what a groundhog in Pennsylvania can predict about weather in Texas, anyway.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

O LORD, in your strength the king rejoices, and in your salvation how greatly he exults!
You have given him his heart’s desire and have not withheld the request of his lips. Selah.
For you meet him with rich blessings; you set a crown of fine gold upon his head.
He asked life of you; you gave it to him, length of days forever and ever.
His glory is great through your salvation; splendor and majesty you bestow on him.
For you make him most blessed forever; you make him glad with the joy of your presence.
For the king trusts in the LORD, and through the steadfast love of the Most High he shall not be moved.

Psalm 21:1-7

“We don’t thank enough because we don’t think enough. Concentrated remembrance turns up vast quantities of material that derive from God and then are happily reexpressed in thanksgiving.”

“Thank you, heavenly Father, for centering and surrounding my life with evidence of your steadfast love. You permeate everything with surprises freely given. Thank you in the gracious name of Jesus Christ. Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

Today’s reading is “The Constraint of the Call.”

Woe to me if I do not preach the gospel!
1 Corinthians 9:16

“Beware of stopping your ears to the call of God.” We do well, of course, to remember that these devotions are selected from messages that Oswald Chambers preached to a group of students at a Bible Training College. We are all called, upon salvation, to testify to the fact that God has saved us. This is what “being a witness” is about. That is not the same thing as a call to preach the Gospel.

When we become servants of Christ, however, we have no say in what he chooses to do with us. He does not ask our permission “as to what we will do or where we will go. God makes us broken bread and poured-out wine to please Himself.” When one begins to hear the call and to be “separated unto the gospel,” a sort of agony begins. “Every ambition is nipped in the bud, every desire of life quenched, every outlook completely extinguished and blotted out, saving one thing only–‘separated unto the gospel.’ Woe be to the soul who tries to put his foot in any other direction when once that call has come to him.” We only need to look at the story of Jonah to see that truth illustrated.

Father, your call has been on my life, albeit not to preach the Gospel, but to live it. You called me to prayer, and I seem to have drifted slightly. I have not run away from it, or tried to go in a different direction, but my focus has been fuzzy, lately. I pray for a reconnection to this purpose, while using the gifts that you have given me to testify to the glory and majesty of your Gospel. Teach me your way, that I may walk in your truth; unite my heart to fear your name. Help me to abide in you, that I might bear much fruit.

Come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

3 thoughts on “The Call of God

  1. Living on Okinawa, I’m pretty sure Phil has no idea what sort of weather we’ll see. Within the last week and a half, we had the first recorded instance of snow (according to the Japan Meteorological Agency) and the hottest day on record for this time of year. Maybe Phil is as confused as the weather!

Leave a Reply

