Controlled By God’s Love

“You can’t get a cup of tea big enough or a book long enough to suit me.”~~C.S. Lewis
(BrainyQuote)

Today’s word of the day, from Dictionary.com, is desiderata, which means “things wanted or needed.” It is actually the plural form of desideratum.

Today is Thank A Mailman Day. Unfortunately our “person from post” always comes while we are at work. Tell the truth, though. Who out there doesn’t secretly still enjoy checking the mail? It’s like a daily surprise when you return home from work.

Life goes on, as they say. And God is good, no matter what the circumstances. It’s been a very rough year, already, but we will forge ahead. The unfortunate news I received on Tuesday seems to be not as bad as it could have been. At some point, I will probably share more about his, but not yet. I will just say that, as it works out, it certainly could be worse, and looks like it might turn out to be okay. We will see.

It’s Thursday, the day we sometimes call “pre-Friday.” I think I already mentioned it, but we will be going to Mineral Wells on Saturday to spend a couple of days with my mother and go to church with her on Sunday. Stephanie is very excited about this!

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

My God, my God, why have you forsaken me? Why are you so far from saving me, from the words of my groaning?
O my God, I cry by day, but you do not answer, and by night, but I find no rest.
Yet you are holy, enthroned on the praises of Israel.
In you our fathers trusted; they trusted, and you delivered them.
To you they cried and were rescued; in you they trusted and were not put to shame.

Psalm 22:1-5

“Present despair is set against the experience of hope.” The writer of this psalm feels like God is far away from him, but he remembers times past when desperate prayers were answered. Memory is good for prayer. When we take time to remember when God has answered prayer, it strengthens today’s prayers.

“Lord, my emotions are a poor indication of your faithfulness. The way I feel has little to do with the way you work. The answered prayers of my ancestors, the multitude of the faithful, the ‘praises of Israel’–these are the assurance I need to fix my prayers again in Jesus Christ. Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

Today’s reading is “The Overmastering Majesty of Personal Power.”

For the love of Christ controls us . . .
2 Corinthians 5:14

The title, I believe, is a bit misleading. This really isn’t about “personal power” at all. It’s about the love of Christ.

“Very few of us know what it means to be held in a grip by the love of God; we are held by the constraint of our experience only.” Paul the Apostle was such a person. He spent his entire life, after his conversion, trying to persuade people of the love of God in Christ Jesus. Sure, he related testimony of experience; we pretty much have to do that. But his strength did not come from those experiences; it came from the love of God that “constrained” him (KJV).

“This abandon to the love of Christ is the one thing that bears fruit in the life, and it will always leave the impression of the holiness and of the power of God, never of our personal holiness.”

Father, the desire of my heart is to be controlled by this love. Yet I continue to struggle in that. I don’t want to be Paul, you already have one of those. I want to be Jeff; and I want to be Jeff for You. I could type for hours about how much of my life has been spent seeking my own pleasure/entertainment/happiness. There have been moments when your overwhelming love took over, but my desire is that the rest of my life would be that way. Fill me with your love; let it control me; let it be my life.

Come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

2 thoughts on “Controlled By God’s Love

  1. love the CS Lewis quote 🙂 and the Psalm and always inspiring Oswald Chambers readings. Amen to the prayer to let His love be our life. Doesn’t get any better than that! Blessings!

Leave a Reply

