Hopelessly Insignificant

“We are not permitted to choose the frame of our destiny. But what we put into it is ours.”~~Dag Hammarskjold
(BrainyQuote)

Today’s word of the day, from Dictionary.com, is nugatory, which means “1. of no real value; trifling; worthless. 2. of no force or effect; ineffective; futile; vain. 3. not valid.” I certainly hope that my blog is not nugatory.

Today is Chocolate Fondue Day. That makes my mouth water.

The music world lost another great one, yesterday, as this year’s train of loss keeps on rolling. Maurice White, founder of Earth, Wind, & Fire, died in his sleep Wednesday night or Thursday morning. He was 74 and had been suffering from Parkinson’s Disease.

It’s Friday, so this week is drawing to a close. I don’t really have much else to write about, so I’ll move on to the devotional.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

But I am a worm and not a man, scorned by mankind and despised by the people.
All who see me mock me; they make mouths at me; they wag their heads;
“He trusts in the LORD; let him deliver him; let him rescue him, for he delights in him!”
Yet you are he who took me from the womb; you made me trust you at my mother’s breasts.
On you was I cast from my birth, and from my mother’s womb you have been my God.
Be not far from me, for trouble is near, and there is none to help.

Psalm 22:6-11

The psalmist contrasts being mocked by men with “the reassurance of being treated tenderly by God.” While it is true that it matters how other people treat us, it matters even more how God treats us. God’s dealings with us will “finally make all the difference.”

“Dear God, let me see my life through the lens of your love, and so be able to discern in exact detail what you think of me and what you do for me in Jesus Christ. Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

Today’s reading is “Are You Ready to Be Offered?”

Even if I am to be poured out as a drink offering upon the sacrificial offering of your faith, I am glad and rejoice with you all.
Philippians 2:17

This is a difficult reading. How far are we willing to go, in the service of Christ? Are we fully willing to be offered up? Many of us are willing to “suffer” by feeling like we are alone in our “mission,” but how many of us are willing to be “doormats under other people’s feet?” What if that is the path where God wants to take you?

“Are you ready to be not so much as a drop in a bucket–to be so hopelessly insignificant that you are never thought of again in connection with the life you served? Are you willing to spend and be spent, not seeking to be ministered unto, but to minister?” How many of us will fail in our work for Christ because we won’t do things that are beneath our dignity?

Father, you took me off the stage sometime back. While the music is still there, it has taken a back seat to something more along the sidelines; prayer. Prayer is not something that is visible very often. And that’s okay. I will continue to be okay with that. While there is still a desire to lead worship again, I must accept the place where you have me right now. This is the path you have put me on. Help me to walk it with grace and confidence, trusting in the hand that leads me. May your Spirit help me to be willing to be poured out, to be “hopelessly insignificant.”

Come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

