Good and Faithful Servant

“The price of anything is the amount of life you exchange for it.”~~Henry David Thoreau
(BrainyQuote)

Today’s word of the day, from the Oxford English Dictionary, is razzmatazz, which means, “Showy, ostentatious; glamorous, stylish; dazzling.”

Besides being Fat Tuesday, today is Read in the Bathtub Day. Disclaimer: We do not recommend practicing this with a Kindle. Or a library book, either. You should only read in the bathtub with your own books. How relaxing, though . . .

As already mentioned, today, apparently, is that dubious day of excess, Fat Tuesday. You see, Lent begins tomorrow, Ash Wednesday. So people gorge themselves on Fat Tuesday (also the culmination of Mardi Gras), before they commit to giving something up for the next forty days for Lent. I really don’t practice either one.

Tonight, after work, Stephanie and I will be heading back out to Mineral Wells for a couple of nights. My mother’s surgery is around 9:00 to 9:30 tomorrow morning (she is supposed to be at the hospital by 8:30, which is why we are heading over there tonight). We will stay with her another night to make sure she is feeling okay. It’s supposed to be relatively quick and easy with little recovery time. Most reports say that people can go back to work the next day. My mother doesn’t plan to do that. 🙂

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

The earth is the LORD’s and the fullness thereof, the world and those who dwell therein,
for he has founded it upon the seas and established it upon the rivers.

Psalm 24:1-2

God created and designed this place where we live. In doing so, he provided “a place in which he can share his will and his love.” Our world is “the perfect environment for experiencing God’s redemption.” That seems strange to say, doesn’t it? But you just have to look at the right places to understand that, and there are plenty of “right places” left to look at.

“God restore my perspective so that I will see you as Creator and Owner and myself as steward and servant, caring for your property in a faithful and reverent way. I want to hear your words of commendation, ‘good and faithful servant’ (Matthew 25:21,23). Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

Today’s reading is “Are You Exhausted Spiritually?”

To be exhausted is to be drained of our “vital forces.” “Spiritual exhaustion never comes through sin but only through service, and whether or not you are exhausted will depend upon where you get your supplies.” When we encounter others who need “feeding,” we must be their nourishment until they learn to feed on God for themselves. This will cause us to be drained. However, if we are careful to get our supply from the Lord, we will become “utterly exhausted.”

If we become totally exhausted, we need to check the beginnings of our service. “Where did you start the service from? From your own sympathy or from the basis of the Redemption of Jesus Christ?” We need to always be returning to the foundation of our affections and the source of our power.

Father, help me to continuously go back to the source. I tend to forget and find myself getting drained, not because I have served so well, but because I stop drawing my strength from you, my source, and then I get frustrated with people. Teach me you way, constantly. Always cause me to look back to you for my strength and power. help me to live a life that will receive the best reward I can think of, you telling me that I have been a “good and faithful servant.”

Come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

