The Power of Imagination

“Music washes away from the soul the dust of everyday life.”~~Berthold Auerbach
(BrainyQuote)

Today’s word of the day, from Merriam-Webster, is gruntle. Truthfully, I did not know that there was such a word, but I guess it is logical, as it is the opposite of “disgruntle.” It means, “to put in a good humor.”

Today is Umbrella Day. I dare say, however, that we shall not need any of those contraptions today. The forecast is 74 degrees and sunny. On February 10. A week from today, the high is projected to be 83.

Well, we are in Mineral Wells. Stephanie and I, that is. Christi is going to work this morning, but not feeling very well. My mother is having day surgery this morning, and we are supposed to be at the hospital by 8:30. We had a pleasant drive over, last night. I slept fairly well until someone decided to call my mother’s phone at 4:00 this morning. She said no one was there. But I really didn’t get back to sleep after that, at least not soundly.

Not much else to say, this morning, so I’ll get on with the devotional.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

Who shall ascend the hill of the LORD? And who shall stand in his holy place?
He who has clean hands and a pure heart,
who does not lift up his soul to what is false and does not swear deceitfully.
He will receive blessing from the LORD and righteousness from the God of his salvation.
Such is the generation of those who seek him, who seek the face of the God of Jacob. Selah.

Psalm 24:3-6

We have confidence born out of the good creation that God has given us, which leads us to “live as loved creatures.” The inner life of our hearts and the outer life of our hands are a response to the trustworthiness of God.

“‘Redeemer, come! I open wide my heart to Thee;
here, Lord, abide. Let me Thy inner presence feel;
Thy grace and love in me reveal.’ (Georg Weissel, ‘Life Up Your Heads, Ye Mighty Gates,’ translated by Catherine Winkworth). Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

Today’s reading is “Is Your Imagination of God Starved?”

Lift up your eyes on high and see: who created these?
Isaiah 40:26

The people to whom Isaiah was speaking had “starved their imagination” by focusing on idols, images of false gods. Isaiah made them look up; he made them begin to use their imaginations properly. “If we are children of God, we have a tremendous treasure in Nature.” My pastor loves to look up, especially at night. When Christi and I go to Glen Rose, I love to look at the sky at night, out in the country, away from the light pollution. When I do that, I am drawn to the words of David: When I look at your heavens, the work of your fingers, the moon and the stars, which you have set in place, what is man that you are mindful of him, and the son of man that you care for him? (Psalm 8:3-4)

“The test of spiritual concentration is bringing the imagination into captivity.” What are my idols? Myself? My work (I can definitely say no to that one)? My experience of salvation? Yes, even that can be an idol! When this happens, when my imagination is starved, I must not look back at any experience; I must look at God and God alone!

“One of the reasons of stultification in prayer is that there is no imagination, no power of putting ourselves deliberately before God. We have to learn how to be broken bread and poured-out wine on the line of intercession more than on the line of personal contact. Imagination is the power God gives a saint to posit himself out of himself into relationships he was never in.”

Father, draw me out of myself, into relationship with you. Restore the power of my imagination by causing me to look up! I pray for this day’s surgeries that are happening. May all go smoothly and recovery be quick. Your grace is sufficient, may your will be done on earth as in heaven.

Come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

