Do the Next Thing

“Our knowledge is a little island in a great ocean of nonknowledge.”~~Isaac Bashevis Singer
(BrainyQuote)

Today’s word of the day, from Merriam-Webster, is nimrod. Capitalized, it means “a descendant of Ham represented in Genesis as a mighty hunter and a king of Shinar.” Uncapitalized, it means “hunter,” or “idiot, jerk.” I typically use it as the latter of those three.

Today is Random Acts of Kindness Day. Is there any reason why that couldn’t be every day?

I practiced last night!! Woot! Since Christi had bowling right after work, I got home, checked on the dinner that was cooking in the crock pot, switched out the dishes in the dishwasher, and then got my trombone out. I practiced for close to an hour, I think (I didn’t really time it), and got some good work done on one the more challenging pieces we are playing in our Spring concert. It felt good, and I enjoyed it. Maybe I’ll do that again tonight, who knows?

Pitchers and catchers begin reporting to Spring Training today. Baseball is in the air. Games are right around the corner, beginning in about two weeks. Opening Day is less than 50 days away.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

Hear, O LORD, when I cry aloud; be gracious to me and answer me!
You have said, “Seek my face.” My heart says to you, “Your face, LORD, do I seek.”
Hide not your face from me. Turn not your servant away in anger, O you who have been my help. Cast me not off; forsake me not, O God of my salvation!
For my father and my mother have forsaken me, but the LORD will take me in.
Teach me your way, O LORD, and lead me on a level path because of my enemies.
Give me not up to the will of my adversaries; for false witnesses have risen against me, and they breathe out violence.
I believe that I shall look upon the goodness of the LORD in the land of the living!
Wait for the LORD; be strong, and let your heart take courage; wait for the LORD!

Psalm 27:7-14

Unfortunately, we sometimes mistake the concept of waiting for the Lord to mean standing “around lazily, wondering what will turn up next.” But it truly means to “wait for the Lord” is to intensely seek him and believe in his goodness. Our God is most definitely worth this effort.

“‘Come Lord, and tarry not;
bring the long-looked-for day:
O why these years of waiting here,
these ages of delay?
Come, for Thy saints still wait;
daily ascends their sigh:
the Spirit and the Bride say, “Come”:
dost Thou not hear the cry?’
(Horatius Bonar, ‘Come, Lord, and Tarry Not’). Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

Today’s reading is “The Initiative against Depression.”

“Arise and eat.”
1 Kings 19:5

In this passage, Elijah is depressed. The angel who comes to him does not give him a vision, nor does he expound the Scriptures to him. No, the angel told Elijah to do the most ordinary thing, get up and eat. We humans need to understand that if we were never depressed, we would not be alive. “It is the nature of a crystal to never be depressed. A human being is capable of depression, otherwise there would be no capacity for exaltation.”

When God’s Spirit comes to us in these times, he will not show us visions, he will tell us to do “the most ordinary things conceivable.” If we allow it, depression will drag us away from the “ordinary commonplace things of God’s creation.” But God’s Spirit will lead us to do “the most natural simple things,” things that we would never think that God was in. When we do them, we will find that God is, indeed, there.

We will get depressed. It is part of life. Now, I am not speaking of clinical depression here, which completely disables a person. Should that happen, we definitely need professional help. But in the normal times of depression in life, the inspiration that God’s Spirit will bring to us is to simply “do the next thing and do it in the inspiration of God.” Once we do that, once we “arise and eat,” we will find ourselves back on a higher plane.

Father, I have experienced depression in life. In fact, I am experiencing it, currently. I pray for the inspiration of the Holy Spirit. In fact, I believe I may have experienced that, yesterday evening, when I simply got out my trombone and practiced, a sort of musical equivalent of “arise and eat.” To simply do the next thing . . . that’s what I need. I pray for this inspiration to pull me back to a higher plane with you.

Come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

