Tenacity 

“When we are in love we seem to ourselves quite different from what we were before.”~~Blaise Pascal
(BrainyQuote)

Today’s word of the day, from the Oxford English Dictionary, is comitology, “the study of the organization and functions of committees.” For some reason, this amuses me greatly.

Today is Be Humble Day. We could all do with a little bit more of that, I believe.

Yes, I am very late getting to this, today.

First of all, I have the day off, because I have to work this coming Saturday. So, I thought I would take advantage of the time off and get the 45000 mile maintenance done on my car. So I spent most of the morning, and part of the afternoon at the car dealership. They had to replace the front brake pads, so it took a little longer than expected. But I am back home now, so here we go.

I will still be attending band practice in Southlake, so will probably leave the house around 6 PM.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

As for me, I said in my prosperity, “I shall never be moved.”
By your favor, O LORD, you made my mountain stand strong; you hid your face; I was dismayed.
To you, O LORD, I cry, and to the Lord I plead for mercy:
“What profit is there in my death, if I go down to the pit? Will the dust praise you? Will it tell of your faithfulness?
Hear, O LORD, and be merciful to me! O LORD, be my helper!”
You have turned for me my mourning into dancing; you have loosed my sackcloth and clothed me with gladness,
that my glory may sing your praise and not be silent. O LORD my God, I will give thanks to you forever!

Psalm 30:6-10

We tend to lean toward complacency when we prosper, as the psalmist in verse 6. But trouble and adversity drive us toward God, “for the help that becomes salvation.” No one in his right mind would actively seek trouble. But which, in the end, is better for us?

“In time of trouble, God, let my cry come to you, not as complaint, but as a mighty call for help. Let every storm drive me to the secure haven of your love in Jesus Christ. Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

Today’s reading is “The Discipline of Spiritual Tenacity.”

“Be still, and know that I am God.” Psalm 46:10

What is tenacity? it is “more than endurance, it is endurance combined with the absolute certainty that what we are looking for is going to transpire.” It is more than just holding on, because sometimes, holding on is more from fear of falling off. “Tenacity is the supreme effort of a man refusing to believe that his hero is going to be conquered.”

Are we more afraid of being damned in the end, or are we more afraid that the things that Jesus Christ stood for will not win out in the end? But spiritual tenacity calls us to “work deliberately on the certainty that God is not going to be worsted.”

Are your hopes being disappointed? They are being purified. God’s word is sure. “Remain spiritually tenacious.”

Father, make me more tenacious. Drive me toward the deliberate action that believes that everything that my Savior stood for will be victorious in the end. You will do what you said you will do.

Come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

