Broken Bread and Poured-Out Wine

“The real test of the saint is not preaching the gospel, but washing disciples’ feet, that is, doing the things that do not count in the actual estimate of men but count everything in the estimate of God.”~~Oswald Chambers

“The love we give away is the only love we keep.”~~Elbert Hubbard
(BrainyQuote)
This reminds me of the last line of the last song allegedly recorded by all four of The Beatles together. “And in the end, the love you take is equal to the love you make.”

Today’s word of the day, from the Oxford English Dictionary, is philostorgy, which simply means “parental love.”

Today is Clam Chowder Day. Make mine New England, please. None of that Manhattan stuff. Ugh.

Well, we’ve had no more Internet issues, thus far. However, for some reason, our cable DVR did not record last Sunday’s episode of Downton Abbey. There is a marathon, though, coming up on this Sunday, so I’ve got the episode we missed set to record. It appears to be “pledge time,” though, as the episode is slated to take 90 minutes. Oh, well.

Today is Thursday, and I’m getting free lunch at work. To reward us for have two years with no “lost-time” accidents, they are having a cookout today for us. We are, allegedly, to have bacon cheeseburgers and bratwurst. I’m actually looking forward to going to work today! 😀

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

I hate those who pay regard to worthless idols, but I trust in the LORD.
I will rejoice and be glad in your steadfast love, because you have seen my affliction; you have known the distress of my soul,
and you have not delivered me into the hand of the enemy; you have set my feet in a broad place.

Psalm 31:6-8

“We need far more living space than we can acquire on our own. Sins–our own and others–crowd in on us and cramp us into narrow, rutted paths. Salvation sets us down in wide-open fields where we are free to live, liberated in Christ.” (I love Peterson’s way with words, and chose not to attempt to paraphrase what he wrote for today.)

“Father, lead me through the narrow gate into the broad place, through the door that is Jesus Christ, into the way, the truth, and the life. Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

If I love you more, am I to be loved less? 2 Corinthians 12:15

In today’s reading, “The Destitution of Service,” Oswald Chambers addresses motives and styles of service. When we serve “naturally,” we expect something in return. When we love “naturally,” we expect something in return. Paul did not care about such things. Our 20th and 21st century ideas of service do not match those of Jesus. Somewhere, we developed this idea that the pastor of the church should be raised up and honored, almost idolized, and that all he should have to do is preach the gospel. But Christ’s idea is that we should “serve Him by being the servants of other men.”

“The real test of the saint is not preaching the gospel, but washing disciples’ feet, that is, doing the things that do not count in the actual estimate of men but count everything in the estimate of God.” While preaching the gospel is, indeed, important, the real saint is not the one who merely does that, but “one who becomes broken bread and poured-out wine in the hands of Jesus Christ for other lives.”

Father, I still struggle with these ideas of service. I don’t want to wash peoples’ feet. But your Spirit can change me so that my desire would be to serve you by serving others. Teach me your way, that I may walk in your truth. Unite my heart to fear your name. Help me to abide in you, that I might bear fruit for you.

Come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

