A Sense of Duty

“When you come to a fork in the road, take it.”~~Yogi Berra
(BrainyQuote)

Today’s word of the day, from Dictionary.com, is premiate, which means “to grant an award or prize to.”

Today is Chocolate Souffle Day. That sounds most delicious.

Yesterday’s work morning went very well! There was a little work that had to be done, and then some that would normally have waited until Monday, which I got started on, just to keep busy. There was never any sense of being behind or having to hurry. It was very nice, outside of the fact that I was at work, you know.

After I got home, we ordered some Italian food for delivery, then settled in to watch a few TV shows. We’ve been watching season one of “Jane the Virgin,” which is a pretty fun show, on Netflix.

Christi has been having some trouble with headaches, lately, though. She says it doesn’t hurt as bad today as it did yesterday.

We’re getting ready for our worship gathering, this morning, at The Exchange. The worship gathering begins at 10:15, and we meet at the Northpark YMCA, at 9100 N. Beach, in Fort Worth.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

But I trust in you, O LORD; I say, “You are my God.”
My times are in your hand; rescue me from the hand of my enemies and from my persecutors!

Make your face shine on your servant; save me in your steadfast love!
O LORD, let me not be put to shame, for I call upon you; let the wicked be put to shame; let them go silently to Sheol.
Let the lying lips be mute, which speak insolently against the righteous in pride and contempt.

Psalm 31:14-18

There are times, when we come to the end of ourselves and our own resources, that it may appear that the world is out to get us. It is these experiences that can also drive us to fall on our knees and say, “But I trust in you, O LORD, . . . my times are in your hand.”

“‘Discouraged in the work of life, disheartened by its load,
shamed by its failures or its fears, I sink beside the road;
but let me only think of Thee
and then new heart springs up in me’
(Samuel Longfellow, ‘I Look to Thee in Every Need’). Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

. . . “this is why we believe” . . . Jesus answered them, “Do you now believe?” John 16:30-31

We say we believe; Jesus answers, “Do you, really?” How many times have we left Jesus alone? “I would never leave Jesus alone!” we indignantly cry. But all of us have done it, at one time or another, in our “Christian work.” We do it when we enter into our work “from a sense of duty, or from a sense of need arising out of [our] own particular discernment.” We lack the “resurrection life of Jesus” in our working. We have wandered away from our intimate relationship with Christ by leaning on our own understanding. There is nothing inherently sinful going on, but once we realize what we have done, we are ashamed.

“We need to rely on the resurrection life of Jesus much deeper down than we do, to get into the habit of steadily referring everything back to Him; instead of this we make our common-sense decisions and ask God to bless them.” When we begin something out of a sense of duty, we have put up something else in competition with Jesus. “We have put our sense of duty on the throne instead of the resurrection life of Jesus.”

Hear this: “We are not told to walk in the light of conscience or of a sense of duty, but to walk in the light as God is in the light.” Sure, when we work out of a sense of duty, we can always summon a rational argument for what we are doing; but when we work out of obedience to Christ, there is frequently no argument possible, which leads to potential ridicule.

Are we willing to be rididuled for Christ?

Father, I need to reconnect with this resurrection life of Christ. I confess I have lost my connection, and my intimacy with Christ has waned. Draw me back, Lord, to the point where I am walking in the light, as you are in the light. Teach me your way, that I may walk in your truth. Help me to abide in you, that I might bear fruit.

I lift up an additional prayer, this morning, for my friend Robert, who is going through a difficult time with his son. May your Spirit draw his son to your heart, that his course of life might be changed. Give Robert wisdom in this situation. May you also provide resources for him to get any help he might need.

Come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

