Gripped By Jesus

“Never consider whether you are of use; but ever consider that you are not your own but His.”~~Oswald Chambers

“By all means use some time to be alone.”~~Edward Young
(BrainyQuote)

Today’s word of the day, from Dictionary.com, is factotum, “a person, as a handyman or servant, employed to do all kinds of work around the house,” or, “any employee or official having many different responsibilities.”

Well, today is Grammar Day. I might have to abstain from social media today. 😀

It’s Friday!! And baseball games have started! The Rangers have played a couple of spring training games this week, and won both of them. Of course, I never take too much stock in how spring training games come out, because the teams are trying out players and establishing rosters. For example, the Rangers beat last year’s World Series champs 10-0 yesterday. I did listen to a couple of innings on my phone, and what I heard sounded pretty good. The Red Sox are 1-1 in two games against the Twins. Big Papi is making his spring debut today. This will be his last season. I hope to get to see him at Rangers Ballpark in June, when the Red Sox are here.

The North Texas Irish Festival is this weekend. I hope we can go to it tomorrow, sometime. It is always the first weekend in March, at Fair Park in Dallas.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

Therefore let everyone who is godly offer prayer to you at a time when you may be found; surely in the rush of great waters, they shall not reach him.
You are a hiding place for me; you preserve me from trouble; you surround me with shouts of deliverance. Selah.
I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go; I will counsel you with my eye upon you.
Be not like a horse or a mule, without understanding, which must be curbed with bit and bridle, or it will not stay near you.

Many are the sorrows of the wicked, but steadfast love surrounds the one who trusts in the LORD.
Be glad in the LORD, and rejoice, O righteous, and shout for joy, all you upright in heart!

Psalm 32:6-11

When working with a mule, one does not attempt to reason with it, or appeal to its intelligence. One uses a bit and bridle. God does not treat us this way; he has made us intelligent beings who can (in spite of the way it seems, at times) “comprehend wise counsel.” We are frequently allowed choices between “righteous and wicked acts,” but we are not without guidance, which God provides for us through his word and Holy Spirit.

“I want to be worthy of the dignity you confer on me, God. I place my mind and my morals before you. Instruct and guide me in the way I should go. Amen.”

Trust in the LORD with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make straight your paths.
Proverbs 3:5-6

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

But I do not account my life of any value nor as precious to myself . . . Acts 20:24

In today’s reading, “Could This Be True of Me?” Chambers states that it is easier to serve God when we don’t have an overriding vision or call on our lives. This might seem a strange statement to us, but consider his reasoning. When we are serving God in this way, we are able to use common-sense arguments to drive us. “Consider how useful I am in this area,” or “I’m really good at this thing, so I must do that!” But once we receive a vision or call, this will always come back in our memory like a goad, and we will “no longer be able to work for Him on the common-sense basis.”

What do I truly count dear? Unless Jesus Christ grips me, I will count service dear, or time spent with God in daily devotions dear, or even my own life. Paul speaks against this in the verse above. The only reason he counted his life of any value was in order to fulfill the ministry he had been given.

The common-sense arguments listed above run in competition to abandonment to God. “Never consider whether you are of use; but ever consider that you are not your own but His.”

Father, do not let me use these “common-sense arguments” to determine what I am to do. If I had done that, I would never have been leading a prayer ministry. I still don’t really have a clue what I am doing in this, which causes me to work harder to depend on you for guidance. Forgive me when I fail to do this. Help me to look solely to you, through Jesus Christ, in order to guide this ministry. Teach me your way, that I may walk in your truth. Teach me to abide in the Vine of Jesus Christ.

Come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

