The Message Must Be Part of Me

“The hunger for love is much more difficult to remove than the hunger for bread.”~~Mother Teresa
(BrainyQuote)

Today’s word of the day, from the Oxford English Dictionary, is ridibund, which means, “Inclined to laughter; happy, lively.”

Today is Mario Day. You know . . . the Nintendo Mario. So grab some pizza and get out your Nintendo game system.

Well, we finished Downton Abbey last night. The two hour series finale was bittersweet. But I believe that they wrapped up all of the story lines satisfactorily. And they made Christi cry at least fifteen times. I only cried three or four. I’m not going into any detail, here, in case there are readers who may not have seen it, yet.

It’s Thursday, which means it’s almost Friday, which means we’ll be heading to Glen Rose and Paluxy River Bed Cabins very soon! We are so looking forward to this weekend! We are taking Monday and Tuesday of next week off, so we’ll have a four-day weekend. Sadly (but not too sadly), we are switching cabins this year. Our previous favorite, the Cedar House, is a two story, with stairs. As our knees and other body parts get older, the stairs have gotten more difficult to navigate, so we will be staying at one of the single story cabins, this time. We have been told by the owners that the one we are staying at has the best view, though.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

I will bless the LORD at all times; his praise shall continually be in my mouth.
My soul makes its boast in the LORD; let the humble hear and be glad.
Oh, magnify the LORD with me, and let us exalt his name together!

Psalm 34:1-3

“All the great words of praise come, not from those who have never known suffering, but from those who have known God’s help in it. Praising God is not the naive optimism of the sheltered, but the hearty realism of the delivered.

“‘The Lord I will at all times bless,
my mouth His praises shall express;
in Him shall all my boasting be,
while all the meek rejoice with me.
O magnify the Lord with me,
let us to praise His name agree;
I sought the Lord, He answered me,
and from my fears He set me free’
(‘The Lord I will at All Times Bless,’ The Psalter, 1912). Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

. . . preach the word; (2 Timothy 4:2)

We are not all “preachers,” but we all have a message. We are also more than just “channels” or “spiritual mediums.” We are “spiritual messengers; the message must be part of ourselves.” Jesus, the Son of God, “was His own message. His words were spirit and life; and as His disciples our lives must be the sacrament of our message.”

Father, make my life to be my message. As I grow in you, I pray that the life of Christ would become my life. This is my daily prayer. Make my life and the message of the Gospel become so intertwined that they are inseparable.

Come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

