Walk In the Light of the Vision

“Music expresses that which cannot be said and on which it is impossible to be silent.”~~Victor Hugo
(BrainyQuote)

Today’s word of the day, from Dictionary.com, is “psittacism,” which means “mechanical, repetitive, and meaningless speech.”

Today’s word of the day, from Dictionary.com, is “psittacism,” which means “mechanical, repetitive, and meaningless speech.”

Today’s word of the day, from Dictionary.com, is “psittacism,” which means “mechanical, repetitive, and meaningless speech.”

Today is Middle Name Pride Day. Celebrate that middle name! For many of us, it is a name handed down from grandparents and/or other relatives. Mine is Wayne. My granddaddy’s was Wayne. If I’m not mistaken, my uncle’s is also Wayne.

It’s Friday!! Tomorrow, we get to go back to Glen Rose! It’s been a whole year, since we had that vacation trip to Mexico last October. We have missed our little slice of heaven on earth.

I don’t have much else to write about this morning, so on to the devotional.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

I sought the LORD, and he answered me and delivered me from all my fears.
Those who look to him are radiant, and their faces shall never be ashamed.

This poor man cried, and the LORD heard him and saved him out of all his troubles.

Psalm 34:4-6

Like Adam and Eve in the garden, we sometimes attempt to hide from God when we think he will disapprove of us, because of something we have or have not done. The Psalmist knows a different experience. He knows that God cares about our needs and will hear our cries to him. Therefore, he writes, “Those who look to him are radiant.”

“Blessed be your name, O God. You never disappoint me; you hear every cry; you satisfy every need; you banish my fears. In Jesus Christ you are in all and have become all to me. Hallelujah! Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

I was not disobedient to the heavenly vision, (Acts 26:19)

Today’s reading is “Vision.”

“If we lose the vision, we alone are responsible, and the way we lose the vision is by spiritual leakage.” I love this sentence. We must take our beliefs about God into the practical issues of the day. To be obedient to the “heavenly vision,” we must give “our utmost for God’s highest.” The true test is not in the times of prayer and devotion. Sure, I do this devotional thing every morning, and then I pray most of the way to work. But what happens in the “sixty seconds of every minute, and the sixty minutes of every hour,” for the rest of the day? That is where it really matters, and that is where I struggle the most.

Sometimes, “we get so practical that we forget the vision.” This is a major danger for the Christian worker, getting caught up in the mundane workings of a thing, and completely forgetting God’s hand in it. The work becomes an idol. “It is at the peril of our soul’s welfare that we get caught up in practical work and miss the fulfilment [sic] of the vision.”

We must let our feet walk in “in the light of the vision.”

Father, I have experienced this many times. I have failed to let my feet walk in the light of your vision. I pray against that, that you would keep the vision, if there is one, at the front of my mind and heart. Do I currently have a vision? Perhaps I’m struggling with that, right now, as well. Though it tarry, I will wait for it. Show me your ways, that I may find favor with you, Father.

Come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

