Abandoned for What?

“You can’t wait for inspiration. You have to go after it with a club.”~~Jack London
(BrainyQuote)

Today’s word of the day, from Dictionary.com, is canoodle, which means “caress, fondle, or pet amorously.”

Today is Girl Scout Day. For all the cookies.

We had a great time last night. As I was driving home, talking to Christi and Stephanie on the phone, we decided to drive over to Lake Worth and have dinner at Ginger Brown’s Old Tyme Restaurant. We had not been there in probably close to 20 years. It was still as good as we remembered it, and they still give you free cinnamon rolls with every meal. The cinnamon rolls were also as good as we remembered, if not better.

After that, we came home (after stopping at Sonic for drinks), and watched this week’s episode of Major Crimes. Then I played Fallout 4 until mumblemumble o’clock.

I woke up at 7:30! I can’t sleep past 7:30 for some reason. That’s kind of aggravating when you stay up until mumblemumble o’clock playing Fallout 4.

After I finish this, we are going to go get the groceries, then we will pack and head to Glen Rose for three nights! Our favorite place on earth!! Tomorrow is my birthday, which is the reason for this trip. And we decided to switch it up a little bit and stay Saturday-Tuesday, this time, instead of Thursday-Sunday. After all . . . I don’t want to have to come home on my birthday, right? We are very excited, and really looking forward to some pie!!

In the 2016-is-the-year-of-celebrity-apocalypse category, I looked at Facebook yesterday afternoon to have my world severely rattled by the news of Keith Emerson’s death. Keith Emerson was keyboardist and founding member of Emerson, Lake & Palmer, one of my top favorite groups from the seventies. He was 71 years old. To make it worse, it has been revealed that he apparently committed suicide, because he was suffering from some kind of nerve disorder that was affecting his ability to play. My roommate from my seminary days was equally rattled, perhaps even more than me. “Wow!!! I have no words. He was probably the strongest musical influence in my life. The world has changed. It will never be the same. RIP Keith Emerson,” he said. Here is a clip of an ELP performance from 1974 at the famous California Jam. Of course, I was not there, but I watched as much as I could on TV. I remember seeing this, hanging on every note that they played.

Here’s another clip that demonstrates his masterful piano playing. This man was not just a rock musician.

Then today, I learned that Gayle McCormick, lead singer of the group Smith, from the sixties or seventies (I can’t remember), died on March 1.

I’m compiling a list. We’ve lost at least 32 music/acting celebrities so far this year. I’ve probably missed some, too.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

The angel of the LORD encamps around those who fear him, and delivers them.
Oh, taste and see that the LORD is good! Blessed is the man who takes refuge in him!
Oh, fear the LORD, you his saints, for those who fear him have no lack!
The young lions suffer want and hunger; but those who seek the LORD lack no good thing.

Psalm 34:7-10

Just because someone is young does not eliminate them from the possibility of disaster. People who are suffering should not “look enviously at the ‘young lions’ who appear not to have a care in the world.” Our security comes from God. “Wholeness of life is reserved for those who share his life.”

“Father, make me more attentive to the realities of your presence than to the illusions of the world, more trusting in the ‘angels of the Lord’ and less envious of the ‘young lions.’ I wait upon you in my need for the wholeness you promise in Jesus Christ, in whose name I pray. Amen.”

“Lord, if I could truly wrap my mind around the magnitude of Your grace, I would never be able to get up off my knees.” (Katie Ganshert in Daily Guidposts 2016)

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

Peter began to say to him, “See, we have left everything and followed you.”
Mark 10:25

Today’s reading is “Abandonment.”

“Our Lord replies in effect, that abandonment is for Himself, and not for what the disciples themselves will get from it.” Chambers cautions us against a “commercial spirit” in our so-called abandonment. You know what he means . . . “I am going to give myself to God because I want to be delivered from sin, because I want to be made holy.” But, he says, “Abandonment is not for anything at all. we have got so commercialized that we only go to God for something from Him, and not for Himself.”

This really speaks to me, because I have grappled with this for years. Still grappling, too. “If we only give up something to God because we want more back, there is nothing of the Holy spirit in our abandonment; it is miserable commercial self-interest.”

Father, keep speaking to me about this. It is one of Chambers’s favorite topics, abandonment. And the idea that we typically only give things up because we want something else in return is so spot on. This is pretty much the crux of modern Christianity. Steer us away from this idea, Father, and teach to come to you for you alone. Sure, we will pray for things, and we normally will pray for tangible things. But, in the midst of this, let us also pray to simply have you.

Come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

One thought on “Abandoned for What?

Leave a Reply

