Claiming the Promises

“We must use time wisely and forever realize that the time is always ripe to do right.”~~Nelson Mandela
(BrainyQuote)

Today’s word of the day, from the Oxford English Dictionary, is muchwhat, which means “Many matters, various things (as the substance of talk, debate, etc.).” A rather nice word, I think.

Today is World Sleep Day. Then why am I going to work??

Today is Friday, but it feels like Wednesday, since we were off Monday and Tuesday. I don’t know if that made any sense at all.

Not much going on here. I talked to my mother last night, and her oncologist appointment went well. It was confirmed that she will do six weeks of radiation treatment, five days a week, but we still don’t know when that will begin. After that, there will be some kind of hormone treatment (a pill) for five years. The success rate for this kind of treatment is 95%. That’s pretty good. It was also confirmed that the “lump” (if you can even call it that) was very tiny, as well as very new. That is also a good thing.

I think my body is still recovering from the beginning of Daylight Saving Time. Anyone who knows me very well knows that I absolutely loathe DST. There is no good reason for us to be doing this, so it really needs to stop. It disrupts the “body clock,” and some people don’t recover from that. There are increased traffic accidents on the Monday after DST begins. And there was a Swedish study in 2008 that there is an increased risk of heart attack during the first three days after DST begins!

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

Let not those rejoice over me who are wrongfully my foes, and let not those wink the eye who hate me without cause.
For they do not speak peace, but against those who are quiet in the land they devise words of deceit.
They open wide their mouths against me; they say, “Aha, Aha! Our eyes have seen it!”
You have seen, O LORD; be not silent! O Lord, be not far from me!
Awake and rouse yourself for my vindication, for my cause, my God and my Lord!
Vindicate me, O LORD, my God, according to your righteousness, and let them not rejoice over me!
Let them not say in their hearts, “Aha, our heart’s desire!” Let them not say, “We have swallowed him up.”
Let them be put to shame and disappointed altogether who rejoice at my calamity! Let them be clothed with shame and dishonor who magnify themselves against me!
Let those who delight in my righteousness shout for joy and be glad and say evermore, “Great is the LORD, who delights in the welfare of his servant!”
Then my tongue shall tell of your righteousness and of your praise all the day long.

Psalm 35:19-28

There are three times in this Psalm that his cry for help “anticipates a time of praise.” Verse 9, 18, and 28 are the praise that that will result from God’s answer to the cries for help. “The psalmist expects help, and he knows what he will do when he gets it.” It is important to note that he does not get so “immersed in his trouble” that he can’t see the possibility/certainty that he will be “celebrating God’s salvation.”

“Never, O God, let me lose sight of where I am going with you. Help me to make the transition from talking about my troubles to using my tongue to tell your praise ‘all day long’ in Jesus’ name. Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

. . . bringing holiness to completion in the fear of God.
2 Corinthians 7:1

Today’s reading is “Shall I Rouse Myself up to This?”

We are all quick to claim God’s promises, but do we realize that through those same promises, God has a claim on us? Do we realize that our bodies are a temple of the Holy Spirit, or “have I a habit of body that plainly will not bear the light of God on it?” In the process of sanctification, the life of Christ is formed in us, but we have to do the work of transforming our “natural life into a spiritual life by obedience to Him.” We can’t just sit back and expect God to transform us into sinless creatures. We must keep ourselves cleansed in our own daily walk with him.

“I have to cleanse myself from all filthiness of the flesh and spirit until both are in accord with the nature of God.” Essentially, the gist of all of this is that I have work to do, and it is, indeed, “work.” I can’t just sit back and expect to become “holy.” I can’t claim God’s promises without recognizing that his promises produce a claim upon me, as well.

Great food for thought and meditation.

Father, teach me these truths; may they burrow down deep into my being and take root. Give me, not only the strength, but the desire to cleanse myself daily in my walk with you, that the life of Jesus Christ might be fully formed in me. Help me to cleanse any habits that would not bear your light.

Come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

2 thoughts on “Claiming the Promises

  1. “Anyone who knows me very well knows that I absolutely loathe DST. There is no good reason for us to be doing this, so it really needs to stop.” It’s what we all were just saying in our house the other day !

Leave a Reply

