The Point of Asking

“We are all in the gutter, but some of us are looking at the stars.”~~Oscar Wilde
(BrainyQuote)

Today’s word of the day, from Merriam-Webster, is nidifugous, which means, “leaving the nest soon after hatching.”

Today is the International Day of Happiness, a young holiday, having only been established in 2012. While happiness can be evasive, for many, it is based on fleeting things like buying, consuming, and popularity. However, the emphasis on this day is that happiness should be more related to friends, family, and emotional well-being. Nevertheless, let us be aware that the phrase, “Don’t worry; be happy” can be no more helpful than “Just do it,” or “Just say no.” It just simply isn’t always that easy.

We had a nice late lunch with Rachel and Justin, yesterday. There was good conversation and simply a good time. We hung out at the house for a little while, and then they went back home, as Rachel was tired, having had to work yesterday morning. This was especially tiring, as she had just gotten off work at 10:00 PM the night before. The job seems to be going well for her, though.

We are getting ready for church, this morning, and I’m playing keys in the worship band, so we have to be there earlier than usual. So I must get moving. We attend worship gatherings at The Exchange, which meets at the Northpark YMCA at 9100 N. Beach in Fort Worth.

Oh, and welcome to Spring.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

Fret not yourself because of evildoers; be not envious of wrongdoers!
For they will soon fade like the grass and wither like the green herb.
Trust in the LORD, and do good; dwell in the land and befriend faithfulness.
Delight yourself in the LORD, and he will give you the desires of your heart.

Psalm 37:1-4

Kind of in the theme of the above mentioned International Day of Happiness, we tend to be caught between desiring what the world offers (material wealth, greed) and a desire to be what God has created us to be. This psalm presents an argument and evidence that we should throw in with God’s side. There are warnings (“Fret not yourself” and “be not envious”), and there is counsel (“Trust” and “Delight yourself”) in these verses that introduce the concept.

“Confirm, Almighty God, the deep desires of my heart and fix my purposes in your will so that I may not be distracted by what others flaunt as either pleasure or prosperity, as I pray in the name of Jesus. Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

The LORD said, “Shall I hide from Abraham what I am about to do,
Genesis 18:17

In today’s reading, “Friendship with God,” Oswald Chambers gives an answer to the question, “Why do we pray?” There is a delight in real friendship with God, as opposed to “occasional feelings of His presence in prayer.” When we are in the highest stage of our relationship with God, there is “a life of freedom and liberty and delight.” We are God’s will. Whatever we decide to do will be God’s will, unless he should happen to check us.

I have to confess that I am certainly not at this point, yet. But, neither was Abraham. After all, in this episode, he stopped praying. “He was not intimate enough yet to go boldly on until God granted his desire.” When we pull up short in our prayers and say, “I’m not sure if this is God’s will,” we still have another stage to go in our intimacy with him. My desire (and I believe God’s as well) is to be as intimately acquainted with the Father as Jesus was. What was the last thing I prayed about? Was I devoted to my desire or to God? Was I aiming to get some gift of the Spirit or to get at God? “The point of asking is that you may get to know God better.”

Take another look at the Psalm verses above. Delight yourself in the LORD, and he will give you the desires of your heart. We must keep praying so that we might obtain “a perfect understanding of God Himself.”

Father, my basic prayer today is that you not give up on bringing me to this point in our relationship. My heart’s desire is to be as intimately acquainted with you as Jesus. But I have far to go. May my prayers not be so much to get things from you, but to know you to the point that my every move, my every decision in life lines up with your will.

Come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

