Drawing Towards Christ

“I went through baseball as ‘a player to be named later.'”~~Joe Garagiola
(BrainyQuote)

Today’s Word of the Day, from the Oxford English Dictionary, is, appropriately, kryptonite. Just in case there is someone who doesn’t know what that means, I will provide the definition. ” In the fictional world of the comic book hero Superman: a substance that renders Superman weak and powerless. Hence in figurative or allusive use: something that can weaken or damage a particular person or thing; an Achilles heel.” The only way Batman would stand a chance against Superman is if he gets his hands on some kryptonite. And I will explain why this WotD is appropriate for today. Batman Vs. Superman starts tonight, at the theaters.

Today is Chocolate Covered Raisins Day. I’m not a huge fan of raisins, but it was either that or “Flatmates Day” (I think the website is British) or “Tuberculosis Day.” And it has the word “chocolate” in it, so that makes it better. Maybe I’ll have some chocolate covered raisins today. Without the raisins. 😀

I had a good meeting with our pastor, last night. We ate at Fuzzy’s Tacos. I’ve never been a huge fan, but last night I found something that was quite delicious. I had their “Shredded Brisket Quesadilla.” Plus, we shared some chips and queso. Now, the reason I’m not a huge fan of Fuzzy’s is that they put feta cheese on most of their stuff. 1. I don’t like feta cheese. 2. This is supposed to be Mexican food, not Greek food. Is it “Greexican?” Anyway . . . the quesadillas don’t have feta (neither do the burritos), and it was very tasty.

We had some good conversation about prayer, and what direction we want to lead the church in the near future, as we begin to emphasize prayer more. I’m excited to go on this journey with our pastor, as we both learn more about prayer and how it works, especially in the context of the church.

Today is Thursday, and we don’t have anything going on tonight. I think someone is supposed to come over and give us an estimate on laying new grass in our front yard, but otherwise, it’s a free night. It will be the only one this week, as we have a Good Friday service on Friday night.

Also, I have learned, this morning, that baseball legend Joe Garagiola passed away yesterday, at the age of 90.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

Wait for the LORD and keep his way, and he will exalt you to inherit the land; you will look on when the wicked are cut off.
I have seen a wicked, ruthless man, spreading himself like a green laurel tree.
But he passed away, and behold, he was no more; though I sought him, he could not be found.
Mark the blameless and behold the upright, for there is a future for the man of peace.
But transgressors shall be altogether destroyed; the future of the wicked shall be cut off.
The salvation of the righteous is from the LORD; he is their stronghold in the time of trouble.
The LORD helps them and delivers them; he delivers them from the wicked and saves them, because they take refuge in him.

Psalm 37:34-40

The psalmist compares the lives of the upright and the wicked and comes to the conclusion that “keeping to the ways of God develops the best kind of life.” I like the highlighted verse, especially the phrase that says, “there is a future for the man of peace.” In our day and age, I believe it a very important thing to be a “man of peace.”

“Sharpen my powers of observation, Lord, so that I can see what is right before my eyes: the flimsiness of the world’s propaganda and the solidity of your promises being fulfilled among the righteous, even through Jesus Christ, my Savior. Amen.”

I’ve run out of time, this morning, so I will simply leave this quote from My Utmost for His Highest.

“If my holiness is not drawing towards Him, it is not holiness of the right order, but an influence that will awaken inordinate affection and lead souls away into side eddies. A beautiful saint may be a hindrance if he does not present Jesus Christ but only what Christ has done for him.”

Father, may I present Jesus Christ to the world today, and every day. May any “holiness” that is present in my life be such that it draws people to Christ, not to myself.

Come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

