He Is Not Here, He Is Risen!

“He is not here, for he has risen, as he said.”~~A nameless angel
Matthew 28:6

Today’s word of the day is resurrection, “the act of rising from the dead.”

Today is Easter, also known as Resurrection Sunday. It is what is known as a “movable feast,” because it does not fall on a fixed date. It always falls somewhere between March 22 and April 25, and has something to do with with the astronomical full moon after the vernal equinox. Or something like that. I confess I don’t get it . . . I just follow the calendar.

I had a fun time practicing with the worship band, yesterday afternoon. So much so that, before we knew it, we had been there three hours! We’ll meet up again at 8:00, this morning, as we prepare for our worship gathering on this Easter Sunday. In some ways, it’s just another Sunday, as we truly celebrate the resurrection of Jesus every Sunday. But Easter is one of the two Sundays (maybe three if you count Mother’s Day) that people who don’t normally attend church will do so. The other is Christmas. But I think that the number of people who do that is growing smaller.

Well, I have a shorter amount of time on Sunday, so I’d best get on with things.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

I said, “I will guard my ways, that I may not sin with my tongue; I will guard my mouth with a muzzle, so long as the wicked are in my presence.”
I was mute and silent; I held my peace to no avail, and my distress grew worse.
My heart became hot within me. As I mused, the fire burned; then I spoke with my tongue:

“O LORD, make me know my end and what is the measure of my days; let me know how fleeting I am!
Behold, you have made my days a few handbreadths, and my lifetime is as nothing before you. Surely all mankind stands as a mere breath! Selah.
Surely a man goes about as a shadow! Surely for nothing they are in turmoil; man heaps up wealth and does not know who will gather!

Psalm 39:1-6

The man in this psalm is suffering, but chooses to not complain, even though that is his initial impulse. Most importantly, he chooses to remain silent in the presence of the wicked. How many of us wail and moan about our condition, regardless of who is around? The psalmist chose, instead, to remain silent and meditate on “the fleeting brevity of life and his hope in a constant God.”

“‘My grief is turned to gladness, to Thee my thanks I raise, who hast removed my sorrow and girded me with praise; and now, no longer silent, my heart Thy praise will sing; O Lord, my God, forever my thanks to Thee I bring.’ (‘O Lord by Thee Delivered,’ The Psalter, 1912). Amen.”

Now after the Sabbath, toward the dawn of the first day of the week, Mary Magdalene and the other Mary went to see the tomb.
And behold, there was a great earthquake, for an angel of the Lord descended from heaven and came and rolled back the stone and sat on it.
His appearance was like lightning, and his clothing white as snow.
And for fear of him the guards trembled and became like dead men.
But the angel said to the women, “Do not be afraid, for I know that you seek Jesus who was crucified.
He is not here, for he has risen, as he said. Come, see the place where he lay.
Then go quickly and tell his disciples that he has risen from the dead, and behold, he is going before you to Galilee; there you will see him. See, I have told you.”
So they departed quickly from the tomb with fear and great joy, and ran to tell his disciples.
And behold, Jesus met them and said, “Greetings!” And they came up and took hold of his feet and worshiped him.
Then Jesus said to them, “Do not be afraid; go and tell my brothers to go to Galilee, and there they will see me.”

Matthew 28:1-10

I’m just going to leave this here, this morning, and ask you to meditate on one of the Biblical accounts of the resurrection. He is not here, he is risen. “What joy this blessed assurance gives! I know that my Redeemer lives!”

<i<Father, as we worship you today, may the power of the resurrection fill our souls and change our lives.

Come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

2 thoughts on “He Is Not Here, He Is Risen!

  1. I think the reason Easter is the “moveable feast” is that early Christians took over the pagan holiday/feast day that celebrated the arrival of springtime/the readiness of the ground to accept new seed. I think… Blessings, brother. Happy Resurrection Day!

Leave a Reply

