Comfortably Numb

“Baseball is a game of race, creed, and color. The race is to first base. The creed is the rules of the game. The color? Well, the home team wears white uniforms, and the visiting team wears gray.”~~Joe Garagiola
(BrainyQuote)

Today’s word of the day, from Dictionary.com, is tessellate, which means, “to form of small squares or blocks, as floors or pavements; form or arrange in a checkered or mosaic pattern.”

Today is Lemon Chiffon Cake Day. I’m relatively certain that I have never eaten Lemon Chiffon Cake, but I’m also relatively certain I would love to do so. Donations will be accepted.

Band practice went pretty well, last night. I think the director got a little more detailed in rehearsal than he should have, being that we had only seen these pieces one time, and he wasn’t conducting them that time. On the other hand, our next concert is April 23, which gives us only three more rehearsals. For some reason, I thought the next one was in May. But I was wrong.

It’s Tuesday, so Christi has bowling after work.

Today is also Rachel Elise Bickley’s birthday!! March 29. I remember a little over a decade ago, celebrating her birthday, (apparently, it was actually March 28, a Tuesday evening) when we got notice that a tornado was heading our way. I remember huddling in the bathroom praying, and I remember the tornado taking an uncharacteristic turn, heading for downtown and tearing up the Bank One building. Since it was after work hours, there were very few people downtown. It is said that this tornado did $450 million in damages.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

I waited patiently for the LORD; he inclined to me and heard my cry.
He drew me up from the pit of destruction, out of the miry bog, and set my feet upon a rock, making my steps secure.
He put a new song in my mouth, a song of praise to our God. Many will see and fear, and put their trust in the LORD.
Blessed is the man who makes the LORD his trust, who does not turn to the proud, to those who go astray after a lie!
You have multiplied, O LORD my God, your wondrous deeds and your thoughts toward us; none can compare with you! I will proclaim and tell of them, yet they are more than can be told.
In sacrifice and offering you have not delighted, but you have given me an open ear. Burnt offering and sin offering you have not required.
Then I said, “Behold, I have come; in the scroll of the book it is written of me:
I delight to do your will, O my God; your law is within my heart.”

Psalm 40:1-8

We are not robots; we are not “programmed to go through religious motions.” The psalmist is described as having an “open ear.” We are “sensitive creatures who listen and respond to the word of God.”

“Lord, I want to learn to read your scriptures in a personal way: so that they are words written not about others, but to me, and the result is not information crammed into my head, but behavior animated by faith. Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

Today’s reading is “Our Lord’s Surprise Visits.”

“The great need for the Christian worker is to be ready to face Jesus Christ at any and every turn.” We never know when he is going to “show up.” The hardest part of our battle is not necessarily against sin, tribulations, or circumstances, but “against being so absorbed in work that we are not ready to face Jesus Christ at every turn.”

“Jesus rarely comes where we expect Him; He appears where we least expect Him, and always in the most illogical connections.” We must stay true to God by being ready for this “surprise visits.” Chambers says we need to stop being religious and be “spiritually real.” By “religious,” he means “using religion as a higher kind of culture.”

I have an experience that validates this reading. Many, many years ago, I was driving to work when the song “Comfortably Numb” came on the radio. It’s my favorite Pink Floyd song, and it contains my absolute favorite guitar solo in any rock song. As I listened to the lyrics, the final chorus arrived.

“When I was a child I caught a fleeting glimpse
Out of the corner of my eye
I turned to look but it was gone
I cannot put my finger on it now
The child is grown, the dream is gone
I . . . have become comfortably numb.”

At that moment, I prayed, almost in tears, that I would never become comfortably numb, and lose the dream or the vision that God had placed within me. Years have passed. I have to confess, sadly, that there have been many times in my life that could have been described as “comfortably numb.” However, God, who is ultimately faithful, always rouses me from my stupor, and refreshes the vision.

Father, I pray that you will always be faithful to do this. I have confidence that you will, and that I will never be allowed to stay in such a state for very long. I pray that your Spirit keep me from getting there, in the first place, that I might faithfully serve you by being ready to face Jesus “at every turn.”

Come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

3 thoughts on “Comfortably Numb

    1. I actually don’t even know what it is. When I hear “Chiffon,” I think of the margarine we used when I was growing up. “It’s not nice to fool with Mother Nature!” 😀

Leave a Reply

