The Mind of Christ in Intercession

“If I didn’t make it in baseball, I won’t have made it workin’. I didn’t like to work.”~~Yogi Berra
(BrainyQuote)

Today’s word of the day, from Dictionary.com, is “valetudinarian.” This has nothing to do with who graduates first, but, rather, means, “a person who is excessively concerned about his or her poor health or ailments.” It’s different from a hypochondriac, in that, the valetudinarian is actually sick or in poor health, but overly obsessed with it.

Today is Take A Walk In the Park Day. The first problem is that it’s a work day. The second problem is that we have a strong chance of thunderstorms today. So Take A Walk in the Park Day may have to be postponed at the Bickleyhouse.

Several things happened, yesterday. We got new grass laid in the front yard. So we’ll be having to water a lot, over the next few weeks. Twice a day for the first week, once a day for the second week, and then three times a week after that. The guy also trimmed back our Bradford Pear, so that it would let some light shine on the lawn.

The second thing that happened is that I got this!
The Show 16
I didn’t have a lot of time to try it out, but got a few innings in. I think it’s going to be great fun, and I got it just in time to sync up with the new baseball season.

Lastly, and with much sadness, the other thing that happened was that Patty Duke died at the age of 69. That’s number 40 on my list, so far this year.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

I have told the glad news of deliverance in the great congregation; behold, I have not restrained my lips, as you know, O LORD.
I have not hidden your deliverance within my heart; I have spoken of your faithfulness and your salvation; I have not concealed your steadfast love and your faithfulness from the great congregation.
As for you, O LORD, you will not restrain your mercy from me; your steadfast love and your faithfulness will ever preserve me!
For evils have encompassed me beyond number; my iniquities have overtaken me, and I cannot see; they are more than the hairs of my head; my heart fails me.
Be pleased, O LORD, to deliver me! O LORD, make haste to help me!
Let those be put to shame and disappointed altogether who seek to snatch away my life; let those be turned back and brought to dishonor who delight in my hurt!
Let those be appalled because of their shame who say to me, “Aha, Aha!”
But may all who seek you rejoice and be glad in you; may those who love your salvation say continually, “Great is the LORD!”
As for me, I am poor and needy, but the Lord takes thought for me. You are my help and my deliverer; do not delay, O my God!

Psalm 40:9-17

(I don’t think I can do justice to Peterson’s “commentary” on this, so I’m quoting verbatim.)

“God is not an exhibit like a piece of great art in a museum, so that we can take occasional strolls through the galleries and ‘ooh’ and ‘ah’ at appropriate intervals. We praise him when we are actual participants in his creative works of deliverance.”

“As I praise you, great God, help me to be both personal and honest. I do not want to parrot generalities I have heard from others, but to witness to your saving help in my life, in Jesus’ name. Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

Today’s reading is “Holiness vs. Hardness Towards God.”

He . . . wondered that there was no one to intercede.
Isaiah 59:16

“The reason many of us leave off praying and become hard towards God is because we have only a sentimental interest in prayer.” We have read all of these books and heard sermons from people who don’t understand, and believe that the purpose of prayer is “that our minds are quieted and our souls uplifted.” Isaiah seems to imply otherwise.

“Worship and intercession must go together, the one is impossible without the other.” When we get involved with intercession, we must “rouse ourselves up to get the mind of Christ about the one for whom we pray.” This is impossible without worship. Instead, we dictate to God how we think prayer should work. Or we just hurl petitions at God, telling him what we want him to do for us. “We do not worship God, nor do we seek to form the mind of Christ.”

We must worship him, seek his face, so that we do not become “hard and dogmatic” toward him. God called me into a ministry of intercession a number of years ago, and I am still struggling to get this truth down into the depths of my being.

Father, I pray for this truth to be real in my life. Help me to live in this holy relationship with you, seeking your face, seeking to have the mind of Christ, and his life formed in me, that I might truly intercede. Shoe me how to get the mind of Christ about those for whom I am praying.

Come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

