Spin Me Around

“Opening day. All you have to do is say the words and you feel the shutters thrown wide, the room air out, the light pour in. In baseball, no other day is so pure with possibility. No scores yet, no losses, no blame or disappointment. No hangover, at least until the game’s over.”~~Mary Schmich
(BrainyQuote)

Today’s word of the day, from Merriam-Webster, is mash, which, in noun form, means, “an intense and usually passing infatuation; also : the object of infatuation.”

Today is Walk Around Things Day. There are a number of different ways to interpret/celebrate this day. You could, for example, walk around a fire hydrant a few times. Or you could walk around a park. Another way is to “walk around” a situation/person that you don’t care to address today.

I wound up not going to church yesterday, as I seem to have come down with some kind of bronchial thingy. I stayed home, went back to bed, and slept at least another three hours. That helped, but I was still feeling weak most of the day. I’m some better, this morning, and it looks like I’ll try to make it in to work. I probably will not make band practice tonight, though, unless I’m feeling much better this evening. At this moment, I feel as if I would have no trouble crawling back into bed and sleeping another three or four hours.

Today is Opening Day for the Boston Red Sox and the Texas Rangers!! Baseball season is finally here. It “officially” started yesterday, though, as there were three games played. The Pirates beat the Cardinals 4-1, the Blue Jays beat the Rays 5-3, and the Royals beat the Mets 4-3. Boston will open the season in Cleveland, today, and the Rangers start at home, playing the Mariners. Both are afternoon games, beginning a little after 3:00 PM. Christi will hear the planes fly over during the opening ceremonies at Rangers Ballpark in Arlington. Hopefully, she will get away from work before the game ends. Otherwise, it will take her an extra hour to get home.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Vindicate me, O God, and defend my cause against an ungodly people, from the deceitful and unjust man deliver me!
For you are the God in whom I take refuge; why have you rejected me? Why do I go about mourning because of the oppression of the enemy?
Send out your light and your truth; let them lead me; let them bring me to your holy hill and to your dwelling!
Then I will go to the altar of God, to God my exceeding joy, and I will praise you with the lyre, O God, my God.
Why are you cast down, O my soul, and why are you in turmoil within me? Hope in God; for I shall again praise him, my salvation and my God.

Psalm 43

When the circumstances of the world conspire against us and cause discouragement and even depression, the answer is given in verse 5 of this Psalm. “Hope in God.” This will lead us back to praise.

“‘Hope of the world, thou Christ of great compassion, speak to our fearful hearts by conflict rent. Save us, Thy people, from consuming passion, who by our own false hopes and aims are spent’ (Georgia Harkness, ‘Hope of the World’). Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

“Those Borders of Distrust”

Behold, the hour is coming, indeed it has come, when you will be scattered, each to his own home, and will leave me alone. Yet I am not alone, for the Father is with me.
John 16:32

Jesus is not rebuking his disciples in this verse, he was simply speaking prophecy. The problem is that his disciples, just like us, were, indeed “scattered” to their own interests, “interests that never were in Jesus Christ.” Even after we become rightly related to God through the work of Christ, “our faith has to be worked out in actualities.” We will be scattered, that much is certain. We will be scattered “into inner desolations and made to know what internal death to God’s blessings means.” Are we ready for this? Until we get to that place, our faith is truly more in the blessings and feelings than it is in God, himself.

Some have called this darkness a “dark night of the soul.” Whatever shape it takes in our lives, it is designed by God to makes sure that we are interested in him, not just in his blessings.

Father, I pray that I am interested in you, and not just your blessings. I believe that I have come a long way into this truth, but still have far to go. There are still circumstances and people that can spin me around until I am dizzy and lose my place in you. Strengthen me against emotional disruptions and make my faith firm and steady in you.

Come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

