Crucified With Christ

“The mind is not a vessel to be filled but a fire to be kindled.”~~Plutarch
(BrainyQuote)

Today’s word of the day, from Dictionary.com, is namby-pamby, a rather nonsensical word that means, “lacking in character, directness, or moral or emotional strength.”

Today is International Safety Pin Day. Yep. That’s a thing.

We had a very nice time with my mother, yesterday. We had lunch at Pulido’s, and talked and talked and talked. As expected, there was a good bit of reminiscing. At one point, my mother took me into the study, where she played a song from a tape that she had found (she went to WalMart and bought a small “boom box” so she could play the tapes). It was my dad playing guitar and singing a song called “Radio Land.” I have since learned that it is originally recorded by Michael Martin Murphy.

The Red Sox beat the Blue Jays again, yesterday, 8-4, the 4 being produced by two Jose Bautista home runs. But that’s all the Blue Jay offense could muster. Late last night, the Rangers had another nice showing against the Angels, beating them 4-1.

This morning, we are getting ready for church. I’m not playing this morning, as I spent most of the week being sick, plus we were out of town all day, yesterday. We meet for our worship gathering at 10:15, at the Northpark YMCA, 9100 N. Beach St., Fort Worth, TX.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

Great is the LORD and greatly to be praised in the city of our God! His holy mountain,
beautiful in elevation, is the joy of all the earth, Mount Zion, in the far north, the city of the great King.

Within her citadels God has made himself known as a fortress.
For behold, the kings assembled; they came on together.
As soon as they saw it, they were astounded; they were in panic; they took to flight.
Trembling took hold of them there, anguish as of a woman in labor.
By the east wind you shattered the ships of Tarshish.
As we have heard, so have we seen in the city of the LORD of hosts, in the city of our God, which God will establish forever. Selah.
We have thought on your steadfast love, O God, in the midst of your temple.
As your name, O God, so your praise reaches to the ends of the earth. Your right hand is filled with righteousness.
Let Mount Zion be glad! Let the daughters of Judah rejoice because of your judgments!
Walk about Zion, go around her, number her towers,
consider well her ramparts, go through her citadels, that you may tell the next generation
that this is God, our God forever and ever. He will guide us forever.

Psalm 48

There is an encouragement, in this Psalm, to be familiar with the “city of God.” At one point, we are even told to walk around her, “number her towers, consider well her ramparts.” We should make an effort to be as familiar with the “city of God” as we are with our own dwelling place. This way, we can point out “familiar landmarks” and give direction to people who as us about “the way, the truth, and the life.”

“I pause now, O God, and survey my surroundings, aware that I live in the midst of your presence and action. I want to be well-oriented in your ways, not for a moment forgetful of who and where I am because of your love in Christ Jesus. Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

“Moral Decision about Sin”

We know that our old self was crucified with him in order that the body of sin might be brought to nothing, so that we would no longer be enslaved to sin.
Romans 6:6

There’s a lot of talk, these days, about struggling with sin, fighting against sin. But Paul indicates, over and over again, in his letters, that sin is to be put to death, crucified with Christ! “Have I made this decision about sin–that it must be killed right out in me?” Jesus Christ died for sin, not so that it could be “curbed or suppressed or counteracted, but crucified.”

The prayer I need to be praying is “Lord, identify me with Thy death until I know that sin is dead in me.” I need to make the “moral decision” that sin in me “must be put to death.”

Father, identify me with the death of Jesus Christ until sin in me is dead. I don’t need to fight it or suppress it or curb it. It needs to be dead. May I enter into the “glorious privilege of being crucified with Christ until all that is left is the life of Christ in my flesh and blood!”

Come, Lord Jesus!

I have been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me. And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.
Galatians 2:20

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

