Resurrection Life NOW

“Voters don’t decide issues, they decide who will decide issues.”~~George Will
(BrainyQuote)

Today’s word of the day, from Dictionary.com, is fuliginous, which means, “sooty; smoky,” or “of the color of soot, as dark gray, dull brown, black, etc.” I once knew a cat that was fuliginous.

Today is Pet Day. Take a few extra moments to show your pets how much you love them.

Yesterday morning, we had a pretty good worship gathering. The message was very good, out of Galatians 1. Our pastor has begun preaching through Galatians, a few verses at a time. He doesn’t know how long it’s going to take, and it really doesn’t matter. Yesterday’s message was about the different types of “false gospels” that can try to catch our attention. Paul admonishes the Galatians to only heed the Gospel that he and his partners preached to them. Even if Paul, himself, preached a different gospel, they were cautioned to not listen.

The rest of the day was unremarkable. Grocery shopping, a late lunch, and TV watching. The Red Sox lost to the Blue Jays, 3-0, and the Rangers lost to the Angels, 3-1. Boston remains in second place, as the O’s are undefeated at 5-0. They are the only undefeated team left, after the first week of the season. The Rangers are also in second place, at 3-4, one game behind the A’s. The rest of the division is 2-4. The Sox take on those undefeated O’s today, and the Rangers continue to play on the west coast, facing the Mariners again. Already. I swear the schedule-makers are smoking crack.

It’s Monday, again. I’m feeling much better than last Monday (still coughing a bit), so I should make it to practice tonight. I need to, because we only have two more practices until the next gig, which is on April 23 at the Southlake Art on the Square event.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Hear this, all peoples! Give ear, all inhabitants of the world,
both low and high, rich and poor together!
My mouth shall speak wisdom; the meditation of my heart shall be understanding.
I will incline my ear to a proverb; I will solve my riddle to the music of the lyre.
Why should I fear in times of trouble, when the iniquity of those who cheat me surrounds me,
those who trust in their wealth and boast of the abundance of their riches?
Truly no man can ransom another, or give to God the price of his life,
for the ransom of their life is costly and can never suffice,

that he should live on forever and never see the pit.
For he sees that even the wise die; the fool and the stupid alike must perish and leave their wealth to others.
Their graves are their homes forever, their dwelling places to all generations, though they called lands by their own names.
Man in his pomp will not remain; he is like the beasts that perish.

Psalm 49:1-12

There are many thoughts of how powerful human people can be and how important they are. Yet there is one truth that they cannot escape: “no amount of money can buy off death.”

“May I never, God, forget that you are my Lord and I am your creation; that however wonderfully you have made me, you have not made me to live to myself or for myself, but to you and for others, even as Jesus Christ did. Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

“Moral Divinity”

For if we have been united with him in a death like his, we shall certainly be united with him in a resurrection like his.
Romans 6:5

What is the proof that I have, in fact, been “united with him in a death like his?” Where is the evidence that I have shared in the crucifixion of Christ? It will be that “I have a decided likeness to Him.” When I make that decision to be identified with Christ in his death, the Holy Spirit invades my life. I must construct my life on the basis of the life of Christ. “I can have the resurrection life of Jesus now, and it will show itself in holiness.”

One of the “false gospels” that our pastor spoke of yesterday was one that preaches that salvation is just for later; our ticket to heaven and it all relates to after we die. But salvation is for now. Over and over, the New Testament teaches us that the resurrected life of Christ should have a life-changing impact on us now! The Gospel is for our lives! The “resurrection life of Jesus invades every bit of my human nature.”

The Holy Spirit is not a “guest” in my house; he will invade everything; he must take over. My part is that I must walk in obedience to what he reveals to me.

Father, I pray desperately that you will continue leading me down this path. Something clicked last week; something big. And I believe that the resurrection life really began taking shape. I am still in a sort of state of wonderment as this continues, but I don’t want it to stop. Please keep forming the resurrected life of Christ within me, and let it color everything that I do or say today. Help me to give the Holy Spirit full access and not just treat him as a “guest.”

Come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

