Whose Work Is It?

“Syllables govern the world.”~~George Bernard Shaw
(BrainyQuote)

Today’s word of the day, from Merriam-Webster, is sedentary, which means, “doing or involving a lot of sitting : not doing or involving much physical activity.” And that’s all I’m going to say about that.

Today is Bookmobile Day. Again, anything with books, library, or chocolate gets priority here. I wish I had a bookmobile. And you can take that meaning either way. I wish there was one that came to my neighborhood, and I wish I drove one around. What a fun job that would be!

Not much going on here, today. Christi’s knee still hurts, but if she avoids the stairs at work, it’s better. Tonight we begin our prayer gathering again. This will be the first meeting since we moved to the YMCA last year. If you are in our area and are interested in attending, you can find more information about it here.

The Red Sox dropped another game to the still undefeated Orioles, last night, losing 9-5. I’m beginning to see why the O’s are undefeated. Those bats just don’t let up. They play one more game today tonight, then the O’s head to Texas for the Rangers’ first weekend series at home.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

The Mighty One, God the LORD, speaks and summons the earth from the rising of the sun to its setting.
Out of Zion, the perfection of beauty, God shines forth.
Our God comes; he does not keep silence; before him is a devouring fire, around him a mighty tempest.
He calls to the heavens above and to the earth, that he may judge his people:
“Gather to me my faithful ones, who made a covenant with me by sacrifice!”
The heavens declare his righteousness, for God himself is judge! Selah.

Psalm 50:1-6

In this Psalm, God is gathering heaven and earth before him “in a great judgment scene.” What an amazing sight! “God shines forth!” (Verse 2) “We do not live to ourselves–everything we do is in relation to the God who made us and cares for us.”

“You know, Lord, how immature I am, not wanting to think about the consequences of my actions, not wanting to be responsible in my decisions. Help me to grow up in righteousness, not avoiding responsibility but accepting it gladly for Christ’s sake. Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

“What to Do under the Conditions”

Cast your burden on the LORD, and he will sustain you; he will never permit the righteous to be moved.
Psalm 55:22

There are burdens that are good for us and burdens that are not. We need to distinguish between the two. Burdens of sin and doubt are burdens we were never meant to bear. However, there are “burdens” that the Lord will place upon us because “He wants us to roll them back on Him.” This devotional reading comes almost simultaneously at a time when I am listening to a Dallas Willard audio recording. He has just spoken about Jesus’s invitation to the “easy yoke.” Here’s the thing that happens so often: We begin a work for God, but we either get out of touch with him, or we don’t have any intimate fellowship with Christ, to begin with. When we do this, the “sense of responsibility will be overwhelmingly crushing.” But if we cast our burden back on him (continuing to walk alongside Christ in his “easy yoke”), “He takes away the sense of responsibility by bringing in the realization of Himself.”

We do not completely fling the burden off of ourselves. We walk with him, letting him take the brunt of the burden, which makes the yoke easy for us. This is such an important principle, especially in the day of modern evangelism, where we constantly get this idea beat into us that we have to try harder, work harder. No. We do not. We need to work where God is working and allow him to take on the responsibility. It is his work, not ours.

Father, continue to teach me this truth . . . that Jesus’s yoke is easy and his burden is light; and that when I share this responsibility, my burden will be light as well, and the work will not be crushing and overwhelming. Show me where you are working. May your Spirit teach me how to cast my burdens onto you.

Come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

