A Transaction of the Will

“The giving up of external things may be an indication of being in total bondage.” – Oswald Chambers

“What we remember from childhood we remember forever – permanent ghosts, stamped, inked, imprinted, eternally seen.” ― Cynthia Ozick
(Goodreads)

Today’s word of the day, from Dictionary.com, is somaticize, which means, “to convert (anxiety) into physical symptoms.” This is a real thing, too.

Today is Haiku Poetry Day. I actually like Haikus.

“Haikus are easy
But sometimes they don’t make sense
Refrigerator”

(Seen on a t-shirt that I own)

It’s raining this morning. Quite a bit, as a matter of fact. That will be good for our new front lawn. It’s also thundering a little, which terribly disturbs our Corgi, Tessie.

Christi got a new laptop yesterday. Three times. It all started when Stephanie’s laptop needed some work done on it. There are keys missing, a couple of the USB ports don’t work, and the screen flashes on and off. It’s under warranty, so we’re getting it fixed. But it will take two to three weeks. So Christi decided to get a new one for her and let Stephanie use her old one until the other one gets fixed. So she brought home a Dell Inspiron 15 7000 series. Got it all set up, but the Internet wouldn’t work. It kept saying that the wi-fi was turned off. So we went back to the store and swapped for another one, thinking that that one was just defective. Nope. Same thing happened. I tried messing with it, too, and we simply could not figure out how to get the wi-fi on. The weird thing is that, during the setup process, it was on and saw the ten or so networks that are always in our area. But after setup, nothing. Zilch. Nada.

So she decided to swap it for another brand, as there is obviously something wrong with this batch. She wound up just getting a refund at Best Buy and going to WalMart to get an HP, which works just fine. So, if you’re in the market for a new laptop, avoid the new Dell Inspiron 15 7000 series.

We’re getting ready for our worship gathering, this morning. We begin at 10:15, at The Exchange, which meets at the Northpark YMCA, 9100 N. Beach St., Fort Worth, Texas.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

For I know my transgressions, and my sin is ever before me.
Against you, you only, have I sinned and done what is evil in your sight, so that you may be justified in your words and blameless in your judgment.
Behold, I was brought forth in iniquity, and in sin did my mother conceive me.
Behold, you delight in truth in the inward being, and you teach me wisdom in the secret heart.
Purge me with hyssop, and I shall be clean; wash me, and I shall be whiter than snow.
Let me hear joy and gladness; let the bones that you have broken rejoice.
Hide your face from my sins, and blot out all my iniquities.

Psalm 51:3-9

David’s sin is being expressed so painfully. “Recognition of sin forces an awareness of God and develops an unhesitating trust in God’s mercy.”

“Merciful God, how dependent I am on your mercy! Everything I am and all I do falls short of your glory. Still, you do not condemn me. Gratefully, I live in your grace and experience your forgiveness in Jesus. Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

“Neck or Nothing”

That disciple whom Jesus loved therefore said to Peter, “It is the Lord!” When Simon Peter heard that it was the Lord, he put on his outer garment, for he was stripped for work, and threw himself into the sea.
John 21:7

Interesting title for an interesting reading. Chambers asks the question, “Have you ever had a crisis in which you deliberately and emphatically and recklessly abandoned everything?” This happens internally, in the will. There may be many times that we approach something like this externally, but “the real deep crisis of abandonment is reached internally, not externally.” Now, Chamber says something that is both odd and interesting. “The giving up of external things may be an indication of being in total bondage.”

“The giving up of external things may be an indication of being in total bondage.”

But don’t we always look at giving up external things as delivering ourselves from bondage?? This is definitely worth pondering. The external is typically emotional. The transaction of the will occurs internally.

Father, I remember times when I have given up a lot of external things because I thought it would please you. But it never helps. Because that’s not where the heart is. Help me to abandon myself internally to your will and your Gospel. Help me to embrace the words of Jesus internally, that I might put them into practice externally, and, thereby, live out the Gospel, the good news that the Kingdom of God is available to us now.

Come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

