To Be Ready

“If you ask me what I want, I’ll tell you. I want everything.” ― Kathy Acker
(Goodreads)

Today’s word of the day, from Dictionary.com, is pecuniary, “of or relating to money.” I suppose that’s appropriate, given that today is officially income tax deadline (they extended it for some reason).

Today is Amateur Radio Day, marked by the date of the formation of the International Amateur Radio Union, in 1925.

We had a good morning of worship, yesterday, and I feel like I played well, but I was distracted by the fact that my in-ear monitors weren’t working very well. I think there was a bad connection somewhere. I wound up ditching them for the second half of songs.

The PAT meeting (Pastoral Assist Team) went pretty well, also, I think. We had a lot of laughs while we ate lunch, and then things got serious for a bit as we discussed the impact of Living in Christ’s Presence, by Dallas Willard and John Ortberg.

Today is Monday, so it’s back to work. Plus I have band practice tonight. This is our last rehearsal before our concert this coming Saturday. We’re playing at Southlake’s Art in the Square event, at around 5:30, according to their schedule.

This Wednesday, I am taking the day off to take my mother to her first radiation treatment. It also corresponds to the year anniversary of my father’s passing, so it will be good to be together that day.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a right spirit within me.
Cast me not away from your presence, and take not your Holy Spirit from me.
Restore to me the joy of your salvation, and uphold me with a willing spirit.
Then I will teach transgressors your ways, and sinners will return to you.
Deliver me from bloodguiltiness, O God, O God of my salvation, and my tongue will sing aloud of your righteousness.

Psalm 51:10-14

“If sin brings us to our knees where God can forgive us, mercy puts us on our feet again so that we can praise God and witness to his ways. Guilt brings us low, but forgiveness lifts us high.”

“I want more, Lord, than just to be relieved of the burden of my sins; I want a new life – a life that participates creatively in your work in the world, a life that shares healing, reconciling, and praising, for Jesus’ sake. Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

“Readiness”

When the LORD saw that he turned aside to see, God called to him out of the bush, “Moses, Moses!” And he said, “Here I am.”
Exodus 3:4

“When God speaks, many of us are like men in a fog, we give no answer.” Moses gave a reply, indicating that he was, at least, somewhere, and was ready. When we are “ready,” it means we have a right relationship with God, and at least some knowledge of where we are, presently. We must not be too busy telling God what we would like to do or where we would like to go.

“Readiness for God means that we are ready to do the tiniest little thing or the great big thing, it makes no difference.” We mustn’t think that we have a choice in what God puts in front of us, we must be ready to do whatever. Whenever duty arises, we must hear the voice of God in it and be “ready for it with all the alertness of our love for Him.”

Father, I want to be “ready.” I desire that readiness; to be alert and listening for your voice, even in the smallest of things. Let me be ready to do the tiniest thing for you. In some ways, I would rather do the tiniest than the great big thing. But whatever it is, let me be ready.

Come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

