Jesus is Here NOW!

“I’ve never known any trouble than an hour’s reading didn’t assuage.” – Arthur Schopenhauer
(BrainyQuote)

Today’s word of the day, from Dictionary.com, is gimcrack. As an adjective, it means, “showy but useless;” as a noun, “a showy, useless trifle; gewgaw.”

Today is Poem In Your Pocket Day. I think you know what to do.

It was a very nice day with my mother, yesterday. We got to Mineral Wells about 8:45, sat for a minute, then headed to Weatherford. They called Mama back at about 9:10 (her appointment was 9:15), and she was back out before 9:30. The actual radiation treatment takes about five minutes. So far, it doesn’t seem to have any ill effects on her. Of course, that was only her second treatment.

After the treatment, we stopped by Target for a few minutes, where I got some popcorn and Mama picked up some new shoes to wear as “houseshoes.” Then we went on back to the house, where we sat and chatted for about a half hour. After that, we went to Dairy Mart for some good cheeseburgers. After lunch, Stephanie took a nap, while Mama and I continued to chat. We were interrupted at one point by the doorbell. Mama answered the door, to be handed a beautiful floral arrangement. She brought it back into the dining room and opened the card. It was from Baum-Carlock Bumgardner, the funeral home that did my father’s funeral. They sent flowers on the anniversary of his death.
Flowers from funeral home

While we were talking, the subject of reading came up, and my mother remembered that she had library books due. So I took her to the library. I always enjoy a trip to the library. Plus I got to meet their librarian, and chatted with her for a good while, while my mother picked out some books to check out.

Steph and I got home just a few minutes after the time I normally leave work. I played Tomb Raider for a while on the PS4, then Christi got home. She and I just ate a can of tuna for dinner, while we watched The Grinder and part of Monday night’s episode of The Voice.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

The fool says in his heart, “There is no God.” They are corrupt, doing abominable iniquity; there is none who does good.
God looks down from heaven on the children of man to see if there are any who understand, who seek after God.
They have all fallen away; together they have become corrupt; there is none who does good, not even one.
Have those who work evil no knowledge, who eat up my people as they eat bread, and do not call upon God?
There they are, in great terror, where there is no terror! For God scatters the bones of him who encamps against you; you put them to shame, for God has rejected them.
Oh, that salvation for Israel would come out of Zion! When God restores the fortunes of his people, let Jacob rejoice, let Israel be glad.

Psalm 53

The evil that men do to each other has its roots in hearts that deny the existence of God. “There is an absence of goodness among us because there is an absence of God within us.” And I might add that this applies to many who claim to be “Christian,” as well.

“Dear God, I am neither good enough nor smart enough to love my neighbor; but you can do it through me. Use my body to bring deliverance and rejoicing to someone who has suffered injustice. In Jesus’ name. Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

“Now Don’t Hurt the Lord!”

Jesus said to him, “Have I been with you so long, and you still do not know me, Philip? Whoever has seen me has seen the Father. How can you say, ‘Show us the Father’?”
John 14:9

“Our Lord must be repeatedly astounded at us – astounded at how un-simple we are. It is opinions of our own which make us stupid; when we are simple we are never stupid, we discern all the time.” Philip was looking for some great revelation, not realizing that he already had it! We look for the mystery of God to be revealed in the future, in some great “cataclysmic event.” But it is now. The Gospel that Jesus preached was that the Kingdom of God is available to us – NOW!

We also look for, and ask for, God to manifest himself to us. But he manifests himself in us! “Other people see the manifestation, the child of God does not.” When we ask questions such as Philip, we hurt our Lord. “The very questions we ask hurt Jesus because they are not the questions of a child.”

Do I hurt Jesus by allowing my heart to be troubled? “If I believe the character of Jesus, am I living up to my belief?” Jesus is here NOW, and his guidance is always immediate.

Father, help me to realize these things on a constant basis. Help me to know that you are always present with me in the life of Christ and in the presence of the Holy Spirit. The Spirit resides within me now. The guidance and character of Jesus are within me now. You are here; Jesus is here; the Spirit is here. I am in constant Trinitarian fellowship with you. Let that color everything I do, say, and think today.

Come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

