Seize the Moment

“Don’t spend time beating on a wall, hoping to transform it into a door.” – Coco Chanel
(BrainyQuote)

Today’s word of the day, from Dictionary.com, is flivver, “an automobile, especially one that is small, inexpensive, and old,” or, simply, “something of unsatisfactory quality or inferior grade.”

Today is DNA Day. That’s not very exciting. But it commemorates the anniversary of the discovery of the Double Helix by James Watson and Francis Crick.

The worship gathering, yesterday morning, went pretty well. I played okay, and the music went well. I can’t say I was at all impressed by our substitute preacher. I mean, he wasn’t bad, but we are spoiled by Jacob, and he wasn’t Jacob.

After church, Christi went out to lunch with some ladies, who then all went to a bridal shower for one of our members, who is getting married next month. The shower went from 3-6 PM, so I didn’t see Christi until about 7, yesterday evening. I did the grocery shopping, dishes, and took out the trash, after which I settled in for some quality PS4 time.

Today is Monday. Christi is leaving for Las Vegas tomorrow, so I’m not going to band practice tonight. She will be gone for the rest of the week, not returning until late Friday night.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

Be gracious to me, O God, for man tramples on me; all day long an attacker oppresses me;
my enemies trample on me all day long, for many attack me proudly.
When I am afraid, I put my trust in you.
In God, whose word I praise, in God I trust; I shall not be afraid. What can flesh do to me?
All day long they injure my cause; all their thoughts are against me for evil.
They stir up strife, they lurk; they watch my steps, as they have waited for my life.
For their crime will they escape? In wrath cast down the peoples, O God!
You have kept count of my tossings; put my tears in your bottle. Are they not in your book?
Then my enemies will turn back in the day when I call. This I know, that God is for me.
In God, whose word I praise, in the LORD, whose word I praise,
in God I trust; I shall not be afraid. What can man do to me?
I must perform my vows to you, O God; I will render thank offerings to you.
For you have delivered my soul from death, yes, my feet from falling, that I may walk before God in the light of life.

Psalm 56

Our Father is not “indifferent to our sufferings.” We might think that he is so busy with the upkeep of creation that he has not time for our tears. But Jesus told his disciples, Why, even the hairs of your head are all numbered. (Luke 12:7)

“‘Thy calmness bends serene above, my restlessness to still; around me flows Thy quickening life, to nerve my faltering will: Thy presence fills my solitude; Thy providence turns all to good’ (Samuel Longfellow, ‘I Look to Thee in Every Need’). Amen

(From Daily Guideposts 2016)

“Ask, and it will be given to you; seek, and you will find; knock, and it will be opened to you.”
Matthew 7:7

Robert Messner writes of an encounter at a neighborhood thrift store. She was shopping when someone called out her name. At first she didn’t remember the person, but a second glance brought back a memory from summer time about four years prior. Her name was Patty, and they had prayed together at an estate sale. It was a hot August morning (as opposed, I suppose, to Neil Diamond’s Hot August Night), and this woman had tapped her on the shoulder. “‘I’m a Daily Guidposts reader,’ she told me. ‘Aren’t you Roberta Messner? When you say your prayers tonight, will you remember me? I’m having surgery for a brain tumor in the morning.'”

This caused Robert to immediately think of the founder of Prayer Igniters, Daily Guideposts writer Karen Barber. Roberta believes she has learned most of what she knows about prayer from Karen. “One practical thing she taught me is to always seize the moment.” So, at that moment, she asked Patty, “How about praying right now?”

And here she was, four years later, telling Roberta that “she couldn’t be healthier.”

Here is the link for the Prayer Igniters web page. I have only just begun to explore it, but it looks to contain many helpful resources.

And whatever you ask in prayer, you will receive, if you have faith.
Matthew 21:22
Therefore I tell you, whatever you ask in prayer, believe that you have received it, and it will be yours.
Mark 11:24
Whatever you ask in my name, this I will do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son. If you ask me anything in my name, I will do it.
John 14:13-14

While I don’t believe that these verses provide us with a “blank check” for prayer, I do believe that Jesus meant what he said, and that we don’t often believe his words strongly enough.

Father, in the words of the father in the New Testament, “I do believe! Help my unbelief!” I know that I believe the words that you say, but how much do I believe them? We have always found ways to rationalize the statements Jesus made about prayer, but I really need to step back and take a look at them and believe that he meant what he said. I pray that you would increase my faith, especially when it comes to prayer. You have drawn me into this ministry; keep me pointed in the right direction, as I feel like I have drifted off a bit.

Come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

