Breathless Expectation

“Education is not the filling of a pail, but the lighting of a fire.” – William Butler Yeats
(BrainyQuote)

Today’s word of the day, from Dictionary.com, is woodnote, which means, “a wild or natural musical tone, as that of a forest bird.” I’m a fan of woodnotes, in that case. I find them to be very relaxing.

Today, it turns out, is Hairball Awareness Day. Anyone who has ever had a cat is very aware of hairballs. And to celebrate, I give you this new Bloom County comic by Berkeley Breathed.
Hairball Day

Christi is coming home tonight! What a relief. I did sleep better last night, but that was probably out of sheer exhaustion from not sleeping well the previous two nights. I still don’t feel rested. I’ll be waiting up for her tonight.

We may be getting some thunderstorms on the morning drive to work, so I’d better get to the serious stuff.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

But you, O LORD, laugh at them; you hold all the nations in derision.
O my Strength, I will watch for you, for you, O God, are my fortress.

My God in his steadfast love will meet me; God will let me look in triumph on my enemies.
Kill them not, lest my people forget; make them totter by your power and bring them down, O Lord, our shield!
For the sin of their mouths, the words of their lips, let them be trapped in their pride. For the cursing and lies that they utter,
consume them in wrath; consume them till they are no more, that they may know that God rules over Jacob to the ends of the earth. Selah.
Each evening they come back, howling like dogs and prowling about the city.
They wander about for food and growl if they do not get their fill.
But I will sing of your strength; I will sing aloud of your steadfast love in the morning. For you have been to me a fortress and a refuge in the day of my distress.
O my Strength, I will sing praises to you, for you, O God, are my fortress, the God who shows me steadfast love.

Psalm 59:8-17

“A good laugh restores perspective and sanity.” The psalm that begins with the presence of enemies all around ends “with relaxed praise.” The thing that makes the difference is the presence of “divine laughter,” which “exposes the silly pretensions of wicked oppressors.”

“Rescue me, God, from obsessive worries about what might go wrong because of evil people. Develop a hearty cheerfulness in me that is confident of your strength. If you can laugh at the wicked, I can too. Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

“The Graciousness of Uncertainty”

Beloved, we are God’s children now, and what we will be has not yet appeared; but we know that when he appears we shall be like him, because we shall see him as he is.
1 John 3:2

Jesus asked us to believe in him, not to believe certain things about him. We ought always to keep this in mind when we are tempted to become obsessed with creeds and statements of belief. We tend to be mathematical and calculating about things, even about our faith.

However, if we are certain about God, it means that we might have to live with being uncertain about ourselves. “To be certain of God means that we are uncertain in all our ways, we do not know what a day may bring forth. This is generally said with a sigh of sadness; it should be rather an expression of breathless expectation.” Remember that as you head out for your day, today.

Father, may I live my life in “breathless expectation” of what you will do. I am very uncertain of me, and what this day may bring, but I am most certain about you. You are good and you are just. You will do what you say you will do, and you do whatever you please. And I am okay with that.

Come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

