Our Reach Must Exceed Our Grasp

“O, what a tangled web we weave when first we practise to deceive!” – Sir Walter Scott
(BrainyQuote)

The word of the day, from Dictionary.com, is jeremiad, “a prolonged lamentation or mournful complaint.”

Today is Baby Day. Not much to say about that. I didn’t have many choices. I’ve always wondered, though . . . before Winston Churchill, who did they say all babies look like??

Well, it’s Monday again. Christi went to the Minute Clinic (CVS) yesterday, and will be billed close to $150 to be told that she didn’t have strep (probably), and that it’s probably viral, and just take Advil. So she just has to wait it out. Unless the lab test comes back and says that it really is strep. She’s going to work today, anyway, because that’s just who she is.

The Red Sox swept the Yankees!! It would be more exciting, but the struggling Yanks are 8-15 on the season so far, in dead last place. The exciting part, though, is that the Red Sox are in first place, all alone, by a half game. The Rangers are in the same position, but the Sox have a better record. It’s still too early to get hopes up, though.

I’ll have band practice tonight, so will get home late. I have to remind myself to get the trombone on the way out the door.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

For God alone my soul waits in silence; from him comes my salvation.
He alone is my rock and my salvation, my fortress; I shall not be greatly shaken.

How long will all of you attack a man to batter him, like a leaning wall, a tottering fence?
They only plan to thrust him down from his high position. They take pleasure in falsehood. They bless with their mouths, but inwardly they curse. Selah.
For God alone, O my soul, wait in silence, for my hope is from him.
He only is my rock and my salvation, my fortress; I shall not be shaken.
On God rests my salvation and my glory; my mighty rock, my refuge is God.

Psalm 62:1-7

“Silence sinks a shaft to bedrock. It is the soul’s means for descending through the gravel of rebellion and doubt to the solid, quiet reality of God’s word.”

“‘Be still, my soul: thy God doth undertake to guide the future as He has the past. Thy hope, thy confidence, let nothing shake; all now mysterious shall be bright at last. Be still, my soul: the waves and winds still know His voice who ruled them while He dwelt below’ (Katherina von Schlegel, ‘Be Still, My Soul,’ translated by Jane L. Borthwick). Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

“The Passion of Patience”

If it seems slow, wait for it.
Habakkuk 2:3

“Patience is not indifference; patience conveys the idea of an immensely strong rock withstanding all onslaughts.” We get patience when we have a vision from God, as Moses did. And when we have a vision of God, we are not devoted to “a cause or to any particular issue,” we are devoted “to God Himself.”

If it seems slow, wait for it. If we have the vision, we will be constantly “reaching out for more than we have grasped.” We should never be spiritually satisfied. “Our reach must exceed our grasp.” If we only have what we have experienced, “we have nothing.” If we have the vision from God, “we have more than we can experience.”

Father, may I never be satisfied. Keep the vision in front of me. Keep me reaching beyond what I have.

Come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

