Petulant or Identified?

“Every single pleasure I can imagine or have experienced is more delightful, more of a pleasure, if you take it in small sips, if you take your time. Reading is not an exception.” ― Amos Oz
(Goodreads)

Today’s word of the day, from Merriam-Webster, is wisenheimer, which means, “smart aleck.”

Today, of course, is Star Wars Day. If you don’t get it, just say the date out loud and see where your brain takes you. “May the fourth . . .”

We started adding programs to the new DVR we got from Charter Monday night. I don’t remember if I ever mentioned that or not. The cable box quit sending a signal to the TV sometime between Thursday night and Saturday morning. We had storms on Friday, but that doesn’t seem to be the issue. Anyway, they had to replace the box, which includes the DVR. I’m thinking about putting an external hard drive on it, but I have to do some research to find out how to make that work.

The Rangers lost to the Blue Jays in the 10th inning last night, 3-1. The Red Sox lost to the Other Sox 4-1. Both teams dropped to half a game out of first place.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

O God, you are my God; earnestly I seek you; my soul thirsts for you; my flesh faints for you, as in a dry and weary land where there is no water.
So I have looked upon you in the sanctuary, beholding your power and glory.
Because your steadfast love is better than life, my lips will praise you.
So I will bless you as long as I live; in your name I will lift up my hands.
My soul will be satisfied as with fat and rich food, and my mouth will praise you with joyful lips,
when I remember you upon my bed, and meditate on you in the watches of the night;

for you have been my help, and in the shadow of your wings I will sing for joy.
My soul clings to you; your right hand upholds me.
But those who seek to destroy my life shall go down into the depths of the earth;
they shall be given over to the power of the sword; they shall be a portion for jackals.
But the king shall rejoice in God; all who swear by him shall exult, for the mouths of liars will be stopped.

Psalm 63

“The most authentic and intense desires can be completed only in relation to God. The same God who created appetites in us has also created the means to their satisfaction.”

“‘I find, I walk, I love, but O the whole of love is but my answer, Lord, to Thee! For Thou wert long beforehand my soul; always Thou lovedst me.’ (Anonymous, ‘I Sought the Lord’). Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

“Vicarious Intercession”

Therefore, brothers, since we have confidence to enter the holy places by the blood of Jesus . . .
Hebrews 10:19

In a continuation of yesterday’s theme, Chambers writes, “Beware of imagining that intercession means bringing our personal sympathies into the presence of God and demanding that He does what we ask.” It is only by the blood of Jesus that we even have the right/privilege to pray at all.

But we tend to always bring our own ideas into the matter, “and intercession becomes the glorification of our own sympathies.” If we are truly identifying with Jesus our sympathies will be radically altered and we will substitute “God’s interests in others for our natural sympathy with them.” This is a rather complex thought, but the gist of it is that I need to be identified with God in Christ rather than determined to have my own way. So if I pray for a friend to get a job, in the back of my mind there also needs to be the prayer that God strengthen this friend against the trials ahead, and open his heart so that he can learn whatever God is trying to teach him.

Father, I frequently struggle with this issue, especially in prayer. It is easy to make demands from you in prayer, and I don’t want to do that. I don’t want to be petulant with you. I want to be an effective intercessor, not meaning that I get what I want, but that I pray what you want. Teach me, Lord. Show me your ways, that I may know you and find favor with you.

Come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

